WICB praises Guyana’s Under-19 double

WICB Media Release.

KINGSTON, Jamaica – All round praises are in store for Guyana as two weeks after winning their 3-Day title, they were just crowned Regional Under-19 One-Day winners.

President of the West Indies Cricket Board, Dave Cameron is urging every member of the winning team to chase their dreams with lots of effort and passion.

“The dominance of Guyana at this level is encouraging and we are hoping these players will grow into becoming some of our better players at the senior level,” said Cameron.

The President in congratulating the team praised winners of individual awards and emphasised the importance of the tournaments of this kind as they help towards identifying players that may have the ability to play at the highest levels of the game and help restore the rich legacy of West Indies cricket.

“On behalf of the directors, management and staff of the WICB, congratulations to the Guyana Under-19 team at this wonderful moment of success,” said Cameron.

“We commend each member of the team for their personal commitment and sacrifice to play their part in this memorable achievement. May this success inspire you and other young players to push for greater accomplishments in time to come.”

Cameron also took the opportunity to thank the Guyana Cricket Board for their sterling work organising the Tournament without major incident.

“There is always an additional responsibility when you are entrusted with the care of young people and the GCB has shown enormous vigilance in ensuring that they were safe, comfortable and were able to focus on the purpose for which they came,” said Cameron.


BARBADOS: Joshua Drakes (captain), Chad Williams (vice captain), Leniko Boucher, Alex Fergusson, Lee-Germon Gaskin, Akil Greenidge, Keon Harding, Matthew Jones,

Nicholas Kirton, Neil Persaud, Tarik Shorey, Shamar Springer, Jafari Toppin, Dikembe Wilson

GUYANA: Brian Sattaur (captain), Sharaz Ramcharran (vice captain), Ronaldo Ali-Mohammed, Balchan Baldeo, Tagenarine Chandrapaul, Shimron Hetmyer, Askay Homray, Keon Morris, Keemo Paul, Steven Sankar, Kemol Sevory, Niall Smith, Daimon Waldron, Akel Wallace

ICC AMERICAS: Vibhav Altekar, Onias Bascome, Arsh Buch, Nikhil Dutta, Stephan Joseph, Aniket Joshi, Armaan Kapoor, Tre Manders, Muhammad Farhan Malik, Muhammad Khan, Arjun Parikh, Keifer Phill, Delray Rawlins, Trevis Ross, Micah Simons; (NOTE: Captaincy rotated as a development opportunity).

JAMAICA: Ramaal Lewis (captain), Nicholas Walters (vice captain), Ryon Burnett, Shahid Crooks, Ramone Francis, Leroy Lugg, Abijai Mansingh, Odaine McCatty, Romaine Morris, Mark Parchment, Odean Smith, Oshane Thomas, George Walker, Malcolm Whyte

LEEWARD ISLANDS: Jeremiah Louis (captain), Alzarri Joseph (vice captain), Colin Archibald, Therone Bussue, Kacey Carty, Jaeel Clarke, Mohit Hingorani, Asharn Hodge, Shaquille Martina, Ross Powell, Kenrick Scott, Mrinal Wadwha, Dion West, Saeed Williams

TRINIDAD & TOBAGO: Jeremy Solozano (captain), Amir Jangoo (vice captain), Jesse Bootan,

Camillo Carimbocas, Brian Christmas, Tevin Jadoo, Brandon Jaggernauth, Justin Joseph, Keron Kanhai, Jemeel Maniram, Anderson Phillip, Samuel Roopnarine, Akil Seetal, Shane Smith

WINDWARD ISLANDS: Roland Cato (captain), Kershaskie Jno Lewis (vice captain), Doran Edwards, Melvin Gordon, Kharmal Hamilton, Sherman Hooper, Deron Hypolite, Ryan John, Anson Latchman, Sherman Lewis, Obed McCoy, Craig Phillip, Gidron Pope, Tonis Simon


3-Day Tournament

July 22 to 24

Jamaica beat Barbados by 6 wickets – Everest

Windwards beat Trinidad & Tobago by an innings and 21 runs – Enmore

Guyana drew with Leeward Islands – National Stadium

July 26 to 28

Trinidad & Tobago drew with Barbados – National Stadium

Leeward Islands beat Jamaica by 2 wickets – Demerara Cricket Club

Guyana beat Windward Islands by 4 wickets – Everest

July 30 to August 1

Barbados beat Leeward Islands by 8 wickets – Enmore

Guyana beat Trinidad & Tobago by an innings and 41 runs – Bourda Oval

Jamaica drew with Windward Islands – National Stadium

1-Day Tournament

August 4

Trinidad & Tobago beat ICC Americas by 164 runs – Demerara Cricket Club

Jamaica beat Barbados by 8 wickets – Bourda Oval

Guyana beat Leeward Islands by 76 runs – Enmore

(Windward Islands bye)

August 5

Barbados beat Windward Islands by 2 wickets – Demerara Cricket Club

Guyana beat ICC Americas by 49 runs – Bourda Oval

Jamaica vs Leeward Islands, no result – Wales

(Trinidad & Tobago bye)

August 7

Guyana beat Trinidad & Tobago by 5 wickets – Bourda Oval

Leeward Islands vs Windward Islands, no result – Enmore

Jamaica beat ICC Americas by 7 wickets – Everest

(Barbados bye)

August 9

Barbados beat Leeward Islands by 8 wickets – Everest

Jamaica beat Trinidad & Tobago by 69 runs – Demerara Cricket Club

Windward Islands beat ICC Americas by 4 wickets – Wales

(Guyana bye)

August 10

Guyana beat Jamaica by 68 runs (D/L Method) – Bourda Oval

Barbados vs ICC Americas, no result – Demerara Cricket Club

Windward Islands beat Trinidad & Tobago by 2 wickets – Enmore

(Leeward Islands bye)

August 12

Leeward Islands beat ICC Americas by 150 runs – National Stadium

Guyana beat Windward Islands by 114 runs – Albion

Trinidad & Tobago beat Barbados by 58 runs – Everest

(Jamaica bye)

August 13

Windward Islands beat Jamaica by 9 wickets – Bourda Oval

Trinidad & Tobago beat Leeward Islands by 5 wickets – Demerara Cricket Club

Guyana beat Barbados by 44 runs – National Stadium

(ICC America bye)

August 15

The Final

Guyana vs Windward Islands, no result – Everest

WICB Media Release.

Mon, 08/18/2014 - 11:53