WASA Outsiders claim RS Sports T20 title

Trinidad & Tobago Newsday article.

PORT OF SPAIN, TRINIDAD - A masterful knock of 101 from Alvarado Bryce hauled WASA Outsiders to a well-deserved 37-run win over Spoilers in the finals of the 2013 RS Sports Association Twenty20 Tournament at the Wilson Road Recreation Grounds, Penal, last week.

Batting first, Outsiders piled on a hefty total of 191 for the loss of three wickets in their 20 overs faced. Bryce top scored with his impressive knock while Navindra Krishna contributed nicely (47), falling just three runs short of a half-century. Jameel Radhay was the best bowler for Spoilers, picking up two for 22 while Shane Samai bagged one wicket for 41 runs. 

In their turn at the crease, Spoilers were restricted to a 154 for the loss of eight due to some tight bowling from Bevon Duncan (2/22) and Mukesh Boodoosingh (2/29). Spoilers batsman, Keith Soogrim showed some resistance against the Outsiders bowlers and got 38 while teammate Radhay (34) also showed good form with the bat. 

For his stellar contribution with the bat, Alvarado was named “Man of the Match”. 

Meanwhile, the RS Sports Association 30 over competition climaxes on Friday with defending champions Vijay Sports taking on T20 champions, Outsiders in the championship match. This clash bowls off at the Wilson Road Grounds from 6pm and will follow with a short presentation ceremony. 

In the semi-finals of the 30 over last week, Outsiders were led to another 37-run win over Central Renegades. Outsiders batted first and got to a strong total of 206 for five. Sherwin Jackson slammed 90 while Totaram Rampersad contributed significantly with 51. 

In reply, Rampersad (3/34) and Vishnu Jagessar restricted the Central Renegades progress and held them to 167 for seven, after a forcefully shortened 28 over match. 

In the other “semi”, Vijay Sports raced to a five-wicket win over SKG Sports. Batting first, the latter were dismissed for a paltry 88 after just 22 overs, due to a mesmerizing spell of six wickets for eight runs from David Sultan. Chandradath Bodoe also snagged two for 21. 

In their turn, the 2012 champions raced to a victorious 89 for the loss of five. Bodoe also top scored with 44. 

The 30 over finals bowls off at 6pm on Friday at the Wilson Road Recreation Grounds in Penal.

First Published In The Trinidad & Tobago Newsday.

Wed, 05/29/2013 - 04:58