WASA clinch SIS Cricket League crown

Trinidad & Tobago Newsday article.

Port of Spain, Trinidad - WASA capped off its 10-game winning streak in the 2014 SIS Industrial Cricket League by producing a clinical 53-run victory over National Gas Company (NGC) to capture this year’s coveted crown in an exciting final at Macaulay Park on Friday.

Draped in their sky and navy blue uniforms, WASA won the toss and opted to bat first in front of a packed pavilion of supporters. This decision proved fruitful as eventual “Man of the Match” Veeshan Jagessar tore apart the NGC bowling attack with his confident stroke play to carry his team to 94/3 from their allotted ten overs. 

The Clico Preysal all-rounder blasted four sixes and two fours in a compact innings of 48. He received good support from middle-order batsman Enal Kanhai, who slammed two sixes in his knock of 21. NGC’s Greg Latchmansingh (2/18) and Sean Siloch (1/15) had decent spells. 

NGC were off to the worst possible start losing star opener, Daniel Prentice, without scoring. 

In came Siloch, who dampened his team’s spirit after being run-out for just one run attempting a quick single. 

NGC failed to muster any partnerships after Siloch’s dismissal as WASA bowled superbly to stifle their run chase, eventually dismissing them for a meagre 41. Jaggesar completed a fine performance, finishing with figures of 3/15 in his two over spell to also claim the “Man of the Tournament” award. Earlier in the day, IPSL MX weaned out a 32-run victory over hosts SIS in the third-place playoff. MX took first strike and posted a competitive 66/7 with top order batsmen Christian Sookhansingh and Anand Singh contributing 13 apiece. However, it was the experienced Naz Mohammed whose unbeaten cameo knock of 18, allowed MX to muster an invaluable 30 runs from the last three overs. Roger Williams had the best bowling figures with 2/5 as he tried to restrict the Methanol men. 

SIS eventually folded for a disappointing 34 to complete a one- sided game and a well earned victory for MX. Avellon Mohammed was the main destroyer for MX grabbing 3/6 to hand his team a respectable third place finish. 

2014 SIS Industrial Cricket Awards - 

Winner - WASA; Runners-up - National Gas Company; Third Place - Industrial Plant Services Ltd. - Methanol Division; Fourth Place - Super Industrial Services. 

Man of the Match (Finals) - Veeshan Jaggesar (WASA) 

Man of the Tournament - Veeshan Jaggesar (WASA) 

Most Individual Wickets - Veeshan Jaggesar (WASA) - 16 

Most Individual Runs in an Innings - Sean Siloch (NGC) - 94 

Most Tournament Runs - Sean Siloch (NGC) - 222 runs 

Best Bowling Figures - Dave Ramharrack (Air Liquide) - 5/3 vs EBSL 

Highest Team Score - National Gas Company - 154/2 vs Proman.

First Published In The Trinidad & Tobago Newsday.

Wed, 06/11/2014 - 06:10