Vital wins for Deighton Griffith, Lodge in Foundation Joel Garner T20 tournament

Barbados Cricket Association article.

Bridgetown, Barbados - More intrigue is in store for quarter-final places in the sixth annual Chrsit Church Foundation School Joel Garner Twenty20 tapeball tournament.

It follows vital first wins for Deighton Griffith Old Scholars and Lodge Old Scholars as Round 2 concluded at Dover on Friday night.

Deighton Griffith, the 2012 champions, defeated Police by ten runs in Irvine King/Hugh Barker Zone 'C', while Lodge beat St. Leonard's Old Scholars by 17 runs in the Barry Gaskin/Bran Williams Zone 'D'.

The tournament continues on Monday, February 17 at Briar Hall with Combermere School Old Scholars seeking a hat-trick of wins when they oppose Princess Margaret Old Scholars who are yet to gain a point in the Lee Harford Skeete/Lewiston Wellington Zone 'A'

Standings (After Round 2):

Lee Harford Skeete/Lewiston Wellington Zone 'A' - Combermere Old Scholars 6, Alexandra Old Scholars 3, Alleyne Alumni 3, Princess Margaret Old Scholars 0.

Lewin/Gilpin Jones Brothers Zone 'B' - Foundation 'A' Old Scholars 6, Foundation School 3, Harrison College Old Scholars 3, Louis Lynch Old Scholars 0.

Irvine King/Hugh Barker Zone 'C' - Coleridge & Parry Old Schoalrs 6, St. Michael Alumni 3, Deighton Griffith Old Scholars 3, Police 0.

Barry Gaskin/Bran Williams Zone 'D' - Foundation 'B' Old Scholars 6, St. Leonard's Old Scholars 3, Lodge Old Scholars 3, Grantley Adams Old Scholars 0.

Summarised scores of Friday's matches:

Deighton Griffith Old Scholars beat Police by 17 runs.

Deighton Griffith Old Scholars 145 all out (18.4 overs) (Marlon Franklyn 24, Martin Nurse 21, Stephen Byer 15, Adam Browne 13; Trevor Ifill 3-20, Larry Babb 3-31, Dennis Murray 2-26).

Police 135 all out (17.1 overs) (Larry Babb 44 - 39 balls, 4 sixes, 2 fours; Richard Greaves 10; Chesterfield Walcott 4-22, Marlon Franklyn 2-7, Nikolai Charles 2-23).

Result: Deighton Griffith Old Scholars won by ten runs.

Points: Deighton Grffith Old Scholars 3, Police 0.

Toss: Police.

The Baron's Smokehouse $100 Player-of-the-Match: Marlon Franklyn.

Umpires: Mark Coppin, Lawson Cummins.


Lodge Old Scholars beat St. Leonard's Old Scholars by 17 runs.

Lodge Old Scholars 134-7 (20 overs) (Matthew King 35 - 19 balls, 4 sixes; Micah St. Hill 33, Renaldo Holder 15; Ravendra Persaud 2-29, Dane Currency 2-36).

St. Leonard's Old Scholars 117 all out (19 overs) (Akeem Springer 19, Andre Roach 17, Carlo Morris 17, Jamel Harewood 15, Stephen Payne 10; Corey Edwards 4-18, Rudy Mayers 3-18).

Result: Lodge Old Scholars won by 17 runs.

Points: Lodge Old Scholars 3, St. Leonard's Old Scholars 0.

Toss: St. Leonard's

The Baron's Smokehouse $100 Player-of-the-Match: Corey Edwards.

Umpires: Earl Collymore, Carson Howard.

First Published On

Sun, 02/16/2014 - 13:53