Vishnu Boys capture SSCL title

Trinidad Express article.

Port of Spain, Trinidad - Vishnu Boys Hindu College clinched their first PowerGen Secondary Schools Cricket League (SSCL) Premier Division title when they beat El Dorado East Secondary by three wickets at Esmeralda Recreation Ground in Cunupia, yesterday.

Medium pacer Jarlarnie Seales starred with the bat, hitting 30 to help the hosts reach 136 for seven after spinner Bryan Boodram grabbed four for 22 to help dismiss “El Do” for 133.

Vishnu Boys held off dethroned champions Hillview College for the crown in yesterday’s final round. Hillview, led by Jesse Bootan’s 92, beat Barrackpore West Secondary by three wickets at Honeymoon Park, El Dorado to take second place.

Summarised Scores

Premier Division

At Esmeralda 

El Dorado East Sec 133 (Nathaniel McDavid 40 n.o., Shaquille McDavid 24; Bryan Boodram 4/22, Deoraj Narine 2/24, Kirstan Kallicharan 2/27) vs Vishnu Boys Hindu College 136-7 (Jarlarnie Seales 30, Hance Kallicharan 30, Brandon Boodram 20 n.o.; Nathaniel McDavid 3/21, Reshawn Baptists 2/30)

—Vishnu won three wickets

At Fatima Ground

Fatima College 153 (Donovan Clayton 34, Jean Paul Rocke 24, Sean Persad 23; Keagan Simmons 3/31, Kaleem Felix 2/2) vs Trinity College East 79 (Keagan Simmons 35, Kaleem Felix 13; Donovan Clayton 3/15, Jean Paul Rocke 2/6, Jonathan Hirst 2/20)

—Fatima won by 74 runs

At Honeymoon Park

Barrackpore West Sec 164 (Quane Ragoonanan 59; Jeremy Solozano 4/19, Afdal Khan 2/39) vs Hillview College 167-7 (Jesse Bootan 92, Jeremy Solozano 27; Miguel Francis 2/23)

—Hillview won by three wickets

At Princes Town

Carapichaima East Sec 185 (Ryan Mohammed 52, Dimitrius Edwards 26, Anderson Phillip 22; Gabriel Blackwell 3/41, Terrance Nanan 2/21, Kimchan Mohammed 2/51) vs Princes Town West Sec 186-1 (Gabriel Blackwell 97 n.o., Cephas Cooper 50 n.o.; Anderson Phillip 1/54)

—Princes Town won by nine wickets

At Presentation College Chaguanas

 Naparima College 161-6 (Roberto Samai 71) vs Pres Chaguanas 142-7 (Kamil Pooran 63)

—Game Drawn

Championship Division

Green Arrow Ground

ASJA Boys’ College San Fernando 221 (Brian Deosaran 92, Areon Mohammed 75; Jyd Goolie 5/41) vs Iere High School 135 (Kamron Bukhal 5/31, Akeel Mohammed 3/36)

—ASJA won by 86 runs

At Diamond Village

St Mary’s College 146 (Jashua Clarke 23, Joshua Da Silva 20; Justin Persad 2/19, S Rambaran 2/47, D Rajoop 2/8) vs Pres San Fernando 117 (Justin Persad 43, Akeem Joseph 29; Jashua Clarke 2/26, Matthew Da Costa 2/17, Jason Batson 2/22, Deon Bachan 3/23)

—St Mary’s won 29 runs

At Debe Recreation Ground

Preysal Secondary 141 vs Cowen Hamilton Sec 142-5

—Cowen Hamilton won by five wickets      

First Published In The Trinidad Express.

Thu, 03/13/2014 - 18:27