Under-19s fall to India

Visakhapatnam, India, CMC – Young West Indies lost their third straight game in the four-nation Under-19 series, when they suffered a convincing 124-run drubbing at the hands of India.

Chasing a challenging 316 for victory, the Caribbean lads were never up for the fight and crumbled to 191 all out off 43.5 overs at the Port Trust Diamond Jubilee Stadium on Saturday. The defeat followed those to Sri Lanka and Australia earlier in the week.

India, opting to bat after winning the toss, were carried by half-centuries from Akshdeep Nath (81 not out), Hanuman Vihari (68), and Unmukt Chand (66). Their effort was needed after Manan Vohra was dismissed by seamer Justin Greaves, caught at the wicket, off the first ball of the game.

That proved to be the last of any major success for the Young Windies. Vihari hit nine fours and Chand counted six fours and two sixes as they posted 143 for the second wicket. When Chand departed to another catch at the wicket off leg-spinner Donovan Nelson, Vihari followed three balls in the next over, also caught behind off seamer Ronsford Beaton.

This joy was again short-lived as successive half-century stands, anchored by Nath, then buried the Windies Under-19s. He and Baba Aparajith (42) put on 71 for the fourth wicket before he joined forces with Kumar Deobrat (37 not out) to post a frenetic, unbroken 99 off 46 balls for the fifth wicket.

Nath smashed four fours and four sixes off 64 balls while Deobrat rattled off two fours and three sixes off just 16 balls.
Captain Kraigg Brathwaite (22) and John Campbell (28) then gave the Windies a sound start by adding 35 off 38 balls for the first wicket.

When Campbell departed, Brathwaite put on another 28 for the second wicket with Emmanuel Lett (17) but then wickets fell steadily as the Under-19s were reduced to 100 for five in the 21st over. Sunil Ambris cracked an attacking 25 from 21 balls with three fours and two sixes but was one of three wickets to fall 11 runs, to leave the visitors tottering on 143 for nine.

Nelson (23) and Beaton (21 not out) then spared the Windies some blushes in a 48-run, last wicket stand but there was never any doubt about the result.

M Vohra c wk Ambris b Greaves 0
U Chand c wk Ambris b Nelson 66
G Vihari c wk Ambris b Beaton 68
B Aparajith lbw b Mayers 42
A Nath not out 81
K Deobrat not out 37
Extras (lb6, w14, nb1) 21     
TOTAL (4 wkts; 50 overs) 315
Did not bat: R Kalaria, Vikas Mishra, S Gopal, K Passi, S Patel. 
Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-143, 3-145, 4-216.
Bowling: Greaves 10-0-58-1, Beaton 9-0-52-1, Mayers 10-0-55-1, Davis 9-0-51-0, Campbell 4-0-30-0, Nelson 4-0-24-1, Hosein 4-0-39-0.       
West Indies
K Brathwaite c Vihari b Vikas Mishra 22
J Campbell c Chand b Passi 28
E Lett b Vikas Mishra 17
A Hosein st Patel b Aparajith 16
K Hodge c Aparajith b Gopal 6
K Mayers c Vihari b Aparajith 12
S Ambris c Deobrat b Gopal 25
J Greaves c Vohra b Aparajith 10
D Davis c Chand b Aparajith 4
D Nelson b Passi 23
R Beaton not out 21
Extras (w7) 7     
TOTAL (all out; 43.5 overs) 191
Fall of wickets: 1-35, 2-63, 3-75, 4-84, 5-100, 6-116, 7-132, 8-142, 9-143, 10-191. 
Bowling: Passi 6.5-0-36-2, Kalaria 5-1-21-0, Vikas Mishra 10-0-45-2, Gopal 10-0-42-2, Aparajith 10-2-38-4, Chand 2-0-9-0.
Result: India won by 124 runs.
Points: India 5, West Indies 0.
Toss: India.
Umpires: P Pathak, N Patwardhan.

Sun, 10/02/2011 - 14:24