TTEC clinch Premier League Diamond T20 crown

Trinidad & Tobago Newsday article.

Ragoo Village, Trinidad - A strong opening stand of 80 runs from batsmen Akeil Cooper (62) and Keegan Jagessar (32) propelled TTEC to a nail-biting 16-run victory over Pills and Beyond Super Kings in the final of the inaugural Diamond Premier League (DPL) Twenty20 tournament, at the Kennedy Park Grounds, Ragoo Village.

The latter team won the toss and sent in the “Electric Boys” to bat first in front of several hundred of the league’s spectators. 

Also looking on at the clash were Minister of Housing and the Environment and MP for Oropouche East Dr Roodal Moonilal; Ministry of Community Development Supervisor Reynold Siewdass; Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board president, Azim Bassarath; West Indies Cricket Board director Dr Allen Sammy and National League secretary Anil Kamal.

TTEC got off to a flying start due to opening batsmen Cooper and Jagessar, who set a sound foundation for an exciting final. TTEC went on to amass 153 for the loss of seven after 20 overs. 

In reply, Pills and Beyond Super Kings started their run chase cautiously with openers Nigel Gayasingh (25) and Jeewan Sookdeo (22) finding it difficult to rotate the strike.

Sookdeo was eventually out in the tenth over, bowled by Krishna Narine with the score on 52. Despite another fighting knock by the tournament’s Most Valuable Player and second leading run scorer, Ranga Latchana (41), Super Kings found the going tough with the asking rate in the last five overs at 12 runs per over. 

They kept losing wickets at crucial times, though, and eventually concluded their chase on 137 for seven at the end of their 20 overs. TTEC, emerging victorious, pocketed the winning purse of $15,000 while Super Kings settled for their $7,000 pot. 

In the third place play-off earlier on between Tarouba Sports and Debe Youth Organisation, the former walked away with third place and the $5,000 prize.

Tarouba Sports won the toss and opted to bat first, posting 117 for six in a shortened 15-over game. They were led by the tournament’s third leading run scorer, Nicolas Buchoon (32) while Vishal Jagessar was the pick of the bowlers with 2/20 from his three overs. 

In their turn at the crease, Debe Youths found the going tough due to disciplined bowling from the Tarouba unit. Opener Roger Thomas finished unbeaten on 44 but was not able to see his team home pass the Tarouba total. At the end of their 15 overs, Debe Youths reached 105 for four with Amir Mohammed chipping in with 28, Tarouba winning by 12 runs. 

Honour Roll - 

Most Runs: Evin Lewis (373 runs) SJ Rapids - $500 

Most Wickets: Damien Binwah (16 wickets) Super Kings -$500 

Most Valuable Player: Ranga Latchana (9 Wickets and 369 Runs) - $1,000 

First Published In The Trinidad & Tobago Newsday.

Mon, 09/09/2013 - 07:42