TT & WIsld clash on CT20 opening day

St John’s, Antigua – Defending champions Trinidad and Tobago will clash with fast rising Windward Islands in the feature match on opening day of Caribbean Twenty20 2012.

The marquee annual WICB tournament will feature ten teams competing in 24 matches over 12 intense days of high action cricket in Trinidad and Barbados.

Two matches will be played each day with the first match scheduled for 4pm and the second at 8pm. All matches will be broadcast live on ESPN.

Twelve preliminary round matches will be played at the Queen’s Park Oval in Trinidad from January 9th to 14th while eight preliminary round matches, the semi finals, third place playoff and final will be played at the Kensington Oval from January 17th to 24th.

The final will be played on Sunday, January 22nd and the two semi finals, the day before on January 21st.

Five days into the tournament archrivals T&T and two time regional Twenty20 winners Guyana will do battle on Friday 13th January in what is expected to be a heated contest.

Three overseas teams – Netherlands, Canada and Sussex – will compete against seven Caribbean teams with the highest placed Caribbean team going on to represent the region in the Nokia Champions League.

The ten teams have been placed in two groups:

Group A: Trinidad and Tobago, Windward Islands, Guyana, Leeward Islands and Canada

Group B: Jamaica, Barbados, Combined Campuses and Colleges, Netherlands and Sussex

Caribbean Twenty20, 2012 - Full schedule


January 9

Leewards Islands v Guyana (4pm)

Windward Islands v Trinidad and Tobago (8pm)

January 10

Sussex v Netherlands (4pm)

CCC v Jamaica (8pm)

January 11

Guyana v Windward Islands (4pm)

Canada v Trinidad and Tobago (8pm)

January 12

Sussex v Jamaica (4pm)

Netherlands v Barbados (8pm) 

January 13

Canada v Leeward Islands (4pm)

Guyana v Trinidad and Tobago (8pm)

January 14

Sussex v CCC (4pm)

Barbados v Jamaica (8pm)


January 17

Canada v Guyana (4pm)

Leeward Islands v Windward Islands (8pm)

January 18

Netherlands v CCC (4pm)

Sussex v Barbados (8pm)

January 19

Canada v Windward Islands (4pm)

Leeward Islands v Trinidad and Tobago (8pm)

January 20

Netherlands v Jamaica (4pm)

CCC v Barbados (8pm)

January 21

Semi Final 1 – Group A 1 v Group B 2 (4pm)

Semi Final 2 – Group A 2 v Group B 1 (8pm)

January 22

3rd Place Playoff – Loser SF 1 v Loser SF 2 (4pm)

Final – Winner SF 1 v Winner SF 2 (8pm)

Regional Twenty20 Winners

Stanford Twenty20 2006 – Guyana

Stanford Twenty20 2008 – Trinidad & Tobago

Caribbean Twenty20 2010 - Guyana

Caribbean Twenty20 2011 – Trinidad & Tobago


Mon, 10/31/2011 - 15:29