Sylvester Joseph to lead Leewards

Antigua St. John's - Sylvester Bouncing Joseph returns to competitive Cricket after a three-and-a-half-year absence, and after playing just one season he has been appointed to captain the 14-member Leeward Islands Senior Cricket Team for the Caribbean Twenty20 Tournament in St Lucia and Trinidad & Tobago.

The stylish right-handed batsman last played competitive cricket in 2008 in the Stanford 20/20 before taking a break from the game. On his return this year to local cricket for his club MedPath New Winthrope’s, Joseph did enough to earn him national selection again, and also as captain of the national team in the Leeward Islands 50 overs and 3 day tournaments.

Speaking to the media after his appointment, Joseph said he is happy that the Leeward Islands selectors and the management of the various associations have entrusted him with that confidence to lead the team. 

He noted that the Leeward Islands have very talented players, but they must have pride in themselves and always remember that they are representing the Leeward Islands.

Joseph, who captained the West Indies A Team and represented the West Indies Senior Team in 5 test matches and 13 ODIs from 2000 to 2005, said the Leeward Islands will not be taking any team for granted in this tournament, but Trinidad & Tobago will be their biggest threat based on their experience and the resources they have.

Captain Joseph said he is Looking forward to working with his former captain and team-mate Stuart Williams, who is the coach of the team. He said that there must be a plan going into this tournament, and the players must be focus.

The full Leeward Islands team includes Devon ‘Booby’ Thomas, Gavin Tonge, Anthony ‘I-Roots’ Martin, Rahkeem ‘Jimbo’ Cornwall and Justin Athanase of Antigua & Barbuda, Kieran Powell (Vice Captain), and Tonito Willett of Nevis, Javia Liburd of St Kitts, Chesney Hughes, Jahmar Hamilton, Lyndel Richardson, Kelbert Walters and Shane Burton of Anguilla.

The Manager is Junie Mitcham of St Kitts and Coach Stuart Williams of Nevis.

The Leeward Islands will open their campaign against Barbados on January 7 before taking on Trinidad & Tobago on January 9 at the Queen’s Park Oval.

The Caribbean twenty20 Tournament is organized by the West Indies Cricket Board and bowls off in January.

First Published On Carib Arena.

Thu, 11/29/2012 - 03:23