Successive Wisden Trophies for Strauss

BIRMINGHAM, ENGLAND - Andrew Strauss collected the Wisden Trophy for the second time as England captain today at Edgbaston, following his side’s 2-0 series win against Darren Sammy’s West Indies team. He had previously accepted the Trophy at Chester-le-Street in 2009, following a 2-0 win over a West Indies side led by Chris Gayle.

Strauss is only the fifth England captain to receive the Wisden Trophy in 49 years of intense competition played out in Test series between England and the West Indies. He joins illustrious predecessors Michael Vaughan, Nasser Hussain, Ray Illingworth and Colin Cowdrey as previous recipients of one of Test cricket’s oldest prizes; only the Ashes and the Frank Worrell Trophy pre-date it.

John Wisden & Co donated the Wisden Trophy to MCC and the West Indies Cricket Board in 1963 to mark the 100th edition of Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack, and Frank Worrell guided his team to victory over Ted Dexter’s England that summer. England briefly wrested it back in 1968 and retained it under Ray Illingworth in 1969, but when Rohan Kanhai’s side won the 1973 series, a long period of West Indian domination began.

It wasn’t until September 2000, after 13 unsuccessful series, that England – under Nasser Hussain – ended a long and painful run. The flow of Caribbean fast bowlers had dried to a trickle, and the scenes of jubilation that late summer afternoon at The Oval were capped by the sight of Hussain brandishing the Wisden Trophy on the dressing-room balcony.

It is now 12 years since West Indies last won a Test in England, at Edgbaston in June 2000 – and they have not won a series in this country since Viv Richards led his side to a 4–0 victory in 1988.

Michael Vaughan is the most successful English captain, with three series wins. Only Clive Lloyd, who led West Indies to four series victories, has a better record.

The Wisden Trophy will now return to the Lord’s Museum, where it is on permanent display beside the Ashes.

Mon, 06/11/2012 - 09:49