St. Michael into UWI Inter-Parish T20 final after beating St. Andrew by seven runs

Barbados Cricket Association article.

Bridgetown, Barbados - St. Michael Merchants beat St. Andrew Rhythm by seven runs to reach the final of the 2013 UWI CO Williams Inter-Parish Twenty20 tournament.

In the first semi-final at 3Ws Oval on Tuesday night, the Merchants, set up by a 66-run opening partnership between Craig St. hill and Jabari Yarde, scored 124 for eight off 20 overs after winning the toss

Yarde topscored with 41 off 40 balls, hitting two sixes and two fours, while St. Hill made 31 off 39 deliveries.

Barbados player Kevin Stoute, with 25 off 24 balls at No. 3, was the only other double-figure contributor.

Jonathan Carter, the Barbados and West Indies 'A' team all-rounder, took three for 25 off four overs.

St. Andrew were given a solid start by Aubrey Towler and Kofie Hurdle, who added 81 off 79 balls for the first wicket but they then fell away and ended on 117 for five as spinners Shadd Simmons and Jomel Warrican not only took wickets but were also economical.

Hurdle topscored with 41 off 30 balls including two fours and one six, while Towler made 37 from 47 deliveries with one four and one six.

Carter could only manage nine off 13 balls at No. 3 and West Indies Women's all-rounder Deandre Dottin fell for 13 off 20 balls.

Leg-spinner Simmons snatched three for 14 and left-armer Warrican picked up two for 17 - both off four overs.

The other semi-final brings together St. Lucy Pirates and Christ Church Dolphins tonight, starting at 7 o' clock.

The final is scheduled for Friday.

Summarised scores:

St. Michael Merchants 124-8 (20 overs) (Jabari Yarde 41, Craig St. Hill 31, Kevin Stoute 25; Jonathan Carter 3-25).

St. Andrew Rhythm 117-5 (20 overs) (Kofie Hurdle 41, Aubrey Towler 35, Deandre Dottin 13; Shadd Simmons 3-14, Jomel Warrican 2-17).

Toss: St.  Michael Merchants.

Umpires: Earl Collymore, Sylvan Leacock.

Duckworth-Lewis Manager: Stephen Proverbs.

Scorer: Lee-Ann Johnson.



St. Andrew - Jonathan Carter, Kofie Hurdle, Aubrey Towler, David Carter, Dander Dottin, Alex Bridgeman, Carleon Brome, Ryan Clarke, Larando Best,  Ashayne Haynes, Akeem Jordan.

St. Michael - Kevin Stoute, Craig St. Hill, Jameel Stuart, Jabari Yarde, Matthew King, Omar Marshall, Dane Currency, Andre Evelyn, Jomel Warrican, Zahir Motara, Shadd Simmons.

First Published On

Wed, 12/04/2013 - 05:08