St. Lucy Pirates snatch last semi-final place in UWI Inter-Parish tournament

Barbados Cricket Association article.

Bridgetown, Barbados - St. Lucy Pirates snatched the last semi-final place in the the 2013 UWI CO Williams Inter-Parish Twenty20 tournament with a five-wicket win over St. Philip Sharks at 3Ws Oval on Monday night.

After being sent in and batting with two players short, the Sharks could only manage 71 in 17.3 overs.

The Pirates then romped home in 14 overs.

Reydon Toppin, the Super Centre Spartan batsman, topscored for St. Lucy Pirates with 22 off 23 balls, striking two fours.

The northern men were piloted to victory by all-rounders Jed Yearwood and Larry Babb, who added 29 in an unbroken sixth wicket partnership after a few early hiccups.

Babb, a former Barbados T20 player, who currently represents Police, scored 19 not out off 15 balls with two sixes, while Yearwood, fresh from a splendid knock of 61 for BCA Elite division champions CGI Maple in their resounding 94-run win over Republic Bank St. Catherine in the quarter-finals of the Sagicor General Super Cup (50-over) championship at Bayfield on Sunday, made 15 not out off 25 deliveries.

Jofra Archer, the exciting Foundation School and Barbados Under-19 team fast bowling all-rounder, considered unfortunate not to be now in Bangladesh with the West Indies Youth team, took three for 15 off three overs to put St. Lucy under early pressure on 22 for four.

Neil Browne and Devon Goodman were joint topscorers for St. Philip with 18, while Steven Katwaroo, the Trinidad & Tobago wicket-keeper/batsman who is enrolled at the Sagicor West Indies High Performance (HPC), contributed 12.

Guyanese Chandrapaul Hemraj, another member of the HPC, grabbed four for 17 off four overs including one maiden with his left-arm spin, while experienced Maple seamer Khalid Springer picked up two for 11.

St. Andrew Rhythm will clash with St. Michael Merchants in the first semi-final on Tuesday, December 3, while St. Lucy Pirates oppose Christ Church Dolphins in the other semi-final the following day - both starting at 7 p.m.

The final is slated for Friday, December 6

Summarised scores of Monday's match:

St. Philip Sharks 71 all out (Neil Browne 18, Devon Goodman 18, Steven Katwaroo 12; Chandrapaul Hemraj 4-17, Khalid Springer 2-11).

St. Lucy Pirates 76-5 (14 overs) (Reydon Toppin 22, Larry Babb 19 not out, Jed Yearwood 15 not out; Jofra Archer 3-15).

Toss: St. Lucy Pirates.

Umpires: Jonathan Blades, Earl Collymore.

Duckworth-Lewis Manager: Stephen Proverbs.

Scorer: Lee-Ann Johnson.



St. Philip Sharks - Kenroy Williams, Renaldo Brathwaite, Jason Greene, Steven Katwaroo, Devon Goodman, Joshua Drakes, Jerome Stuart, Neil Browne, Jofra Archer, Tremaine Harris, Ishmael Lucas.

St. Lucy Pirates - Brian Corbin, Larry Babb, Reydon Toppin, Khalid Springer, Richard Greaves, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Jamar Yearwood, Kemar Stanford, Jed Yearwood, Maradon Bend, Zaire McAllister.

First Published On

Tue, 12/03/2013 - 05:41