St Anne’s dethroned

Guyana Times article.

Georgetown, Guyana - Grove and Eccles are the Lower and Central East Bank champions after defeating Saint Anne’s in both the boys and girls finals of the 17th Annual End of School Year Primary Schools Overhand Windball Cricket Competition at Uitvlugt.

In the girls’ game, Eccles batted first and scored 49-1 with Player of the Final Shainica Moses scoring 23 and Brianna Inniss 12. Saint Anne’s were then restricted to 40 -3 with Nasha Boyer making 16.

When Saint Anne’s boys took the field against grove, they shared the same fate as did the girls. Grove, after been invited to bat, scored a record 92-1, after they were 3-1 in the first over. Corvin Griffith hit an unbeaten 55 with included 8 fours and 2 sixes and was also adjudged the MVP of the tournament. Osaie Jacobs chipped in with 25.

Saint Anne’s, in their second attempt to win the finals, were restricted to 43-1 with John Latchan making 13 and Tyron Younge 10.

In other matches, Peter’s Hall boys scored 50-2 with Romario Persaud making 34 and Orwin Hunte 13. Eccles replied with 48-4 with Rawl Gittings scoring 12 and Jonathan Samsundar 11. Joshua Jones grabbed two wickets bowling for Peter’s Hall.

St Annes’ girls congratulating the new champions Eccles Primary while their teacher is ecstatic

Craig boys chalked up 50-3 against Saint Anne’s with Amari Hunte registering 22 and Kobe Robertson 13 while T Younge took 2-10. In reply, Saint Anne’s reached 51-1 with Younge contributing 19 and J Latchan 17.

Covent Garden boys hit 60- 3 with Brian Mohammed 26, Joshua Thomas 16 and Deno Cupidore 10. Grove in reply made 62-3 with O Jacobs 23, C Griffith 14 and Akeem Smith 10. Jerimaiah Singh took 2-14.

Peter’s Hall boys were restricted to 35-1 with a top score of 16 from Jadan Craig. Saint Anne’s, in reply, hit off the required runs for the loss of one wicket. Tyron Younge scored 12.

The event was promoted by the Ministry of Culture Youth and Sport/National Sports Commission and organised by Sports Officer Alistair Munroe.

Meanwhile, Munroe in a statement extended appreciation to the Management of Uitvlugt Estate, Wales Estate, Rose Hall Estate, National Parks Commission, Mr Cecil Kennard of Bush Lot Farm Ground, Timehri Red Ground, No. 71 Ground Corentyne, Bath Community Centre, Regional Education Officers of Regions 3, 4, 5 and 6 and all the umpires who gave of their service free of charge.

Munroe also made mention of those who provided the equipment for the games and singled out Manager of Stereo Sonic, Roger Gilgeous who he noted assisted with trophies for the 2014 programme.

First Published In The Guyana Times.

Mon, 08/18/2014 - 03:13