Sri Lanka restricted to 201 all out

Cricinfo article.

PORT OF SPAIN, TRINIDAD - MS Dhoni was back for India for one last time before he takes a break during India's Zimbabwe tour.

He had injured his hamstring during the first match of this tri-series, but stayed on with the team. Clearly he had plans should India make it to the final.

Back leading India, Dhoni won the toss and asked Sri Lanka to bat first on what he said looked a better pitch than the previous few damp tracks. He also made the big decision of leaving out Umesh Yadav for R Vinay Kumar, who had been with the team since the start of the Champions Trophy without getting a chance to play.

Sri Lanka weren't expected to receive any such shot in the arm when it comes to injuries, and had to shuffle their XI. This time they brought in Suranga Lakmal and Kusal Perera for Dilhara Lokuhettige and Jeevan Mendis.

India 1 Shikhar Dhawan, 2 Rohit Sharma, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 MS Dhoni (capt. & wk), 5 Suresh Raina, 6 Dinesh Karthik, 7 Ravindra Jadeja, 8 R Ashwin, 9 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 10 Ishant Sharma, 11 R Vinay Kumar

Sri Lanka 1 Mahela Jayawardene, 2 Upul Tharanga, 3 Kumar Sangakkara (wk), 4 Dinesh Chandimal, 5 Angelo Mathews (capt.), 6 Lahiru Thirimanne, 7 Kusal Perera, 8 Suranga Lakmal, 9 Lasith Malinga, 10 Rangana Herath, 11 Shaminda Eranga

Summary Scores: Sri Lanka 201 in 48.5 overs – (Kumar Sangakara 71, Lahiru Thirimanne 46, Mahela Jayawardene 22; RA Jadeja 4/23, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 2/24).

Sri Lanka Innings:

WU Tharanga c wkp Dhoni b Kumar 11

M Jayawardene c Ashwin b Kumar 22

KC Sangakkara c Vinay Kumar b Ashwin 71 (100b)

L Thirimanne c Kumar b I Sharma 46 (72b)

AD Mathews* c Vinay Kumar b I Sharma 10

KJ Perera st wkp Dhoni b Ashwin 2

LD Chandimal c Ashwin b Jadeja 5

RB Herath st wkp Dhoni b Jadeja 5

RMS Eranga not out 5

SL Malinga c Kumar b Jadeja 0

RAS Lakmal st wkp Dhoni b Jadeja 1

Extras (b 4, lb 6, w 13) 23

Total (all out off 48.5 overs) 201

Fall of wickets: 1-27 (Tharanga, 6.6 ov), 2-49 (Jayawardene, 13.1 ov), 3-171 (Thirimanne, 37.5 ov), 4-174 (Sangakkara, 39.1 ov), 5-176 (Perera, 39.5 ov), 6-183 (Chandimal, 42.2 ov), 7-193 (Mathews, 45.2 ov), 8-196 (Herath, 46.1 ov), 9-196 (Malinga, 46.3 ov), 10-201 (Lakmal, 48.5 ov)

Bowling: B Kumar 8-4-24- 2 (1w), R Vinay Kumar 6-1-15-0, I Sharma 8-1-45-2 (1w), V Kohli 3-0-17-0 (1w), SK Raina 6-0-25-0, R Ashwin 10-0-42-2 (1w), RA Jadeja 7.5-1-23-4 (1w)

First Published On Cricinfo.

Thu, 07/11/2013 - 07:15