Six ‘franchise players’ appointed for CPL

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados - Six of the top T20 players in the region have been chosen to represent each of the six franchises being prepared to compete in the inaugural edition of the Caribbean Premier League set to begin in July.

Chris Gayle, Marlon Samuels, Sunil Narine, Dwayne Bravo, Darren Sammy and Kieron Pollard , have been named 'franchise players' organizers announced during a news conference in Barbados Tuesday night.

Each of the players will turn out for one of the six teams, which are likely to be from Antigua, Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, St Lucia, and Trinidad and Tobago.

"The CPL has chosen the top six T20 players in the region based on their stats and performances in this format of the game,” said Dirk Hall, managing director of Verus International- the Barbados and USA-based Company funding the Twenty20 league.

“Doing it this way ensures that each team is bolstered by a talented, top West Indian player, and that there is balance and fairness across the board on all six teams."

The CPL says that it is also looking to rope in six international 'franchise players', one for each franchise.

Every franchise will contract 15 players in all, with a maximum of four overseas signings.

Of the regional players, at least six must be from the franchise country and four must be under-23 players.

Apart from the six appointed players, the rest of the squads will be assembled via a draft system, the CPL says.

The CPL agreement between Verus International and the West Indies board stands for a minimum of 20 years.

"The WICB is elated with the agreement, which will allow for regional retainer contracts for a broad pool of players,” said WICB president Julian Hunte.

“These contracts will be funded by the CPL to the tune of US$360,000 annually. This significant investment will truly allow for cricketers in the Caribbean to pursue their profession as professionals”.

The WICB confirmed that the tournament's schedule has been drawn up so that the dates do not clash with any other West Indies international or domestic tournaments, or the IPL.

The inaugural edition will include 30 group matches, followed by an eliminator and a final.

Each of the franchises will play the other five on a home and away basis during the group stage.

Thu, 02/14/2013 - 03:48