Simmons in for Pollard, WI bat

FORT LAUDERDALE, Florida, CMC – West Indies won the toss and opted to bat in the second and final Digicel Twenty20 International against New Zealand at the Central Broward Regional Park on Sunday.

They have rested Kieron Pollard as a precautionary move after the right-hander injured his shoulder in Saturday’s opening match. He has been replaced by Lendl Simmons.

New Zealand have made three changes because of injury, with captain Ross Taylor, Ronnie Hira and Jacob Oram all ruled out. They have been replaced by Kyle Mills, Andrew Ellis and Daniel Flynn. Kane Williamson is leading the squad in Taylor’s absence.

West Indies lead the two-match series 1-0 after winning the first game by 56 runs.

West Indies: Darren Sammy (captain), Chris Gayle, Johnson Charles, Dwayne Smith, Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Bravo, Lendl Simmons, Denesh Ramdin (wicketkeeper), Fidel Edwards, Sunil Narine, Samuel Badree.
New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Rob Nicol, Martin Guptill, Dean Brownlie, Tom Latham (wicketkeeper), Nathan McCullum, Doug Bracewell, Tim Southee, Kyle Mills, Andrew Ellis, Daniel Flynn
Umpires: Umpires Peter Nero, Joel Wilson
TV umpire: Nigel Duguid
ICC Match referee: Andy Pycroft

Sun, 07/01/2012 - 10:28