Second round GTM Under-19 three-day cricket bowls off today

Guyana Chronicle article.

GEORGETOWN, GUYANA - Second-round action in this year’s Guyana Cricket Board (GCB)-organised, Guyana and Trinidad Mutual Fire and Life Insurance (GTM)-sponsored Under-19 Inter-county three-day tournament is set to bowl off today at the Police Sports Club (PSC) and Everest Cricket Club grounds from 10:00hrs.

At Eve Leary, defending champions GT&T Berbice will take on Essequibo under the supervision of Shannon Crawford and Cyril Garnath with Zaheer Mohammed as the standby, while at Camp Road, points leaders Demerara will go up against the President’s XI, with Gavin Sukhdeo and Montgomery Chester calling play and Delvin Austin the standby official.

GT&T Berbice will fancy their chances against the Cinderella County team, who went down to Demerara by 10 wickets inside two days in their first round match at the same venue.

As a result, GT&T Berbice will be looking to skipper Shawn Pereira, Deryck Narine, Gudakesh Motie-Kanhai, Sharaz Ramcharran, Romario Shepherd-DeJonge and David Latchya for the victory, while Essequibo will be hoping their two Ricardos in skipper Ricardo Adams and Ricardo Peters along with Herry Greene shine in this fixture, in their bid to upset their Ancient County opponents.

At Camp Road, Guyana and Demerara’s first class opener Tagenarine Chanderpaul and the pugnacious Brian Sattaur will seek to give their team a positive start, on which Andrew Gibson, skipper Kamesh Yadram, wicketkeeper/batsman Kemol Savory, Devon Lord, Steven Sankar and to an extent Dexter George, can build.

The President’s XI are no pushovers in their own right, since they posses such players as Ryan Shun, Martin Pestano-Bell, Denesh Mangal, Rajiv Balgobin, Nial Smith, Arif Chan, Yenkini Favorite and Garfield Morris. 

Below is the list of members for each team:

President’s XI team reads: Akshaya Persaud (captain), Ryan Shun, Rajiv Balgobin, Asif Alehi, Danesh Mangal, Anthony Boohdeo, Martin Pestano-Bell, Yenkini Favourite, Arif Chand, Hakeem Hinds, Nial Smith, Devon George, and Akesh Jagroo. The coach is Adrian Amsterdam and the manager is David Black.

Demerara team from: Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Brian Sattaur, Chandrika Persaud, Deonarine Seegobin, Andrew Gibson, Kamesh Yadram (captain), Kemol Savory, Steven Sankar, Devon Lord, Stephon Brown, Dexter George, Bernard Bailey, Kevin Paul and Shivram Persaud. The coach is Quason Nedd and the manager is Robert ‘Pacer’ Adonis.

GT&T Berbice from: Shawn Perreira (captain), Nick Ramsaroop, Devin Baldeo, Parmanand Narine, Sharaz Ramcharran, Ashkay Homraj (wkp.), Kevon Jawahir, Derek Narine, David Latchaya, Shailendra Shameer, Gudakesh Motie-Kanhai, Suresh Dhanai, and Romario Shepherd-DeJonge.

Essequibo from: Ricardo Adams (captain), Ricardo Peters, Mark Gonsalves, Herry Greene, Mohamed Hassan, Rajiv Balgobin, Mahendra Balbadar, Avinash Persaud, Andy Dass, Kesho Rooplall, Dexter Williams, Placid Edwards, Raj Parbattie and Shivindra Hemraj. Forbes Daniels will execute the duties of coach, with the manager being Nazeer Mohamed.

First Published In The Guyana Chronicle.

Mon, 06/24/2013 - 18:52