Scotia Bank Kiddy cricket…Leonora, Cornelia Ida and Meten-Meer-Zorg record wins


Kaieteur News article.

Georgetown, Guyana - Leonora, Cornelia Ida and Meten-Meer-Zorg primary schools recorded victories when play in the Scotia Bank nationwide Kiddy cricket tournament continued yesterday at the Uitvlught Community Centre ground, West Demerara.

Leonora defeated Uitvlugt Primary by six runs. Uitvlught batted first and scored 177-6 in 10 overs with Malcolm Dainty top scoring with 14, while extras contributed 28. Leonora replied with 183-8 in 10 overs. Aryan Batool led with 17 while Rafiel Khemraj and Kevin Northey made 13 each and Irfan Hack 12. Alifiyaad Chand grabbed 4-7.

Cornelia Ida overcame Windsor Forest Primary by 11 runs. Cornelia Ida took first strike and posted 148-6 in 10 overs. Bhumeshwar Lalgie made 16. Windsor Forest scored 137-9 in 10 overs in reply.

Saraswat Primary went down to Meten-Meer- Zorg Primary by 10 runs. Saraswat managed 125-6 in 10 overs after taking first turn at the crease. Andrea Seepersaud and Brian Budhan were their leading batters with 13 and 10 respectively; Zaheer Mohamed claimed 2-3. Meten- Meer- Zorg responded with 135-7 in 10 overs. Vickram Harold and Dhanraj Ramjattan stroked 15 apiece while Saif Mohamed supported with 13. Seepersaud and Rahay Rampersaud captured 2 wickets each.

Aryan Batool of Leonora Primary on the go during his top score

In lower West Berbice District, Latchman Singh Primary thumped Calcutta Primary in the final which was played on Monday last at Bush Lot ground. Latchman Singh batted first and rattled up 176-7 in 10 overs. Jashan Saul led with 33 while Timothy Harrichand made 12. Kenroy Ali, Trevon Prince and Britney Lyte picked up two wickets each. Calcutta were restricted for 128-9 in 10 overs in reply. Harrichand captured four wickets and Saul three. In the semi finals Novar Primary lost to Latchman Singh Primary by 4 runs.

Novar made 192-6 in 10 overs batting first. Tristan Tappin scored with 27 and Kaif Shaw 14. Harrichand took 4 wickets. Latchman Singh replied with 196-4 in 10 overs with Saul hitting 47.

Calcutta beat Litchfield Primary by four runs. Litchfield scored 162-8 in 10 overs after taking first strike. Orlando Dellon made 22 and Darnel Alfred 12; Kenroy Ali and Zenair Sharp had two wickets each.

Calcutta made 166-3 in 10 overs in response. Colis Duke led with 39 as Alfred took two wickets.

In the Upper West Berbice District, Rosignol hammered No 5 by 65 runs in the final which was played yesterday at Blairmont. No 5 scored 84-6 in 10 overs, batting first. Esan Flats made 11; Tejpaul Khedon snared 3-6 and Abdool Singh 2-8. Rosignol Primary made 149-4 in 10 overs reply. Marvan Prashad led with 14 and Evan Smith 10.

In the preliminary round, Ithaca went down to No 5 by 16 runs. Ithaca mustered 106-5 in 10 overs after batting first. Filton Edwards scored 10 while extras supported with 20; Elbris Headley took 2-7. No 5 scored 122-4 in 10 overs in reply. Extras made a healthy contribution with 22; and Matthew Persaud captured 2-4.

Rosignol defeated Blairmont by 23 runs. Blairmont took first strike and posted 95 in 10 overs, losing 10 wickets in the process. Balwant Bissoondyal and Paramdeo Ramdhan made 10 each as Alvin Chowramootoo grabbed 4-9, Okifi Patoir 3-18 and Leon Chamalall 3-20.

Rosignol scored 118-9 in 10 overs in response. Prashad and Singh scored 15 apiece and Shaheed Hussain bagged 3-13. Bath Primary went down to NO 5 by 16 runs. Bath made 96-9 in 10 overs, batting first. Jamaal Fraser snared 3-3. No 5 managed 112-6 in 10 overs in reply. Richard Saures had 3-12.

First Published By Kaieteur News.


Thu, 02/13/2014 - 02:58