Samuels 106* trumped by Pakistanis

GROS-ISLET, St. Lucia – Marlon Samuels hit a fifth One-day International hundred in vain, as Mohammad Hafeez and Misbah-ul-Haq combined to lead Pakistan to a six-wicket victory under the Duckworth-Lewis Method in the rain-affected fourth ODI against West Indies on Sunday here.

Samuels struck nine fours and four sixes in a typically languid 106 off 104 balls, as the Windies compiled 261 for seven from their rain-reduced allotment of 49 overs at the Beausejour Cricket Ground.

But a rain delay lasting close to an hour and 20 minutes ruined the home team’s bowling plans and left the Pakistanis to chase a revised target of 189 off 31 overs.

The West Indies bowling lacked penetration and Hafeez with the top score of 59, Misbah with 53 not out and Umar Akmal with 29 not out led the visitors to victory with six balls remaining.

The result meant that West Indies will now hope to salvage a series draw from the final match on Wednesday at this venue, after Pakistan took an unbeatable 2-1 lead in the five-match series.

The Pakistanis won the first ODI by 126 runs two Fridays ago at the Guyana National Stadium, where the Windies won the second ODI by 37 runs two days later before the third ODI ended in a tie last Friday here.

West Indies had kept Pakistan on a tight leash, restricting them to 68 for two off 17 overs, chasing 262, when the the second rain delay of the day occurred.

Things seemed to favour the hosts with the visitors needed 121 from 14 overs, but inconsistent bowling from the Windies and purposeful batting saw the Pakistanis over the finish line.

West Indies claimed Hafeez caught at backward point off Kemar Roach, but a stand of 72 with Misbah for the fourth wicket had put Pakistan within sight.

When Dwayne Bravo had the big-hitting Shahid Afridi caught at deep mid-wicket for seven, this tightened the contest.

But the Windies let things slip when Umar Akmal came to crease and put on 45 – unbroken – with Misbah to take the Pakistanis over the threshold.

Bravo suffered at the hands of Akmal, when the visitors’ wicketkeeper/batsman struck successive boundaries off the first three balls off the eventual final over which cost 15.

The defeat would have left Samuels crestfallen. He added 57 for the fourth wicket with compatriot Chris Gayle, batting at five, and put on 95 for the fifth wicket with Lendl Simmons.

Simmons made 46, Johnson Charles chipped in with 32 and Gayle scored 30 to add some beef to the West Indies total.


WEST INDIES (maximum 49 overs)

D.S. Smith c wkpr Umar Akmal b Mohammad Irfan 8

+J. Charles lbw b Junaid Khan 32

D.M. Bravo c Saeed Ajmal b Wahab Riaz 9

M. Samuels not out 106

C. Gayle c (sub) Umar Amin b Shahid Afridi 30

L. Simmons b Saeed Ajmal 46

D. Sammy b Mohammad Irfan 7

*D.J. Bravo run out (+Umar Akmal/Mohammad Irfan) 6

K. Roach not out 0

Extras (lb6, w9, nb2) 17

TOTAL (7 wkts) 261

S. Narine, J. Holder did not bat

Fall of wickets: 1-20 (Smith, 6.3 overs); 2-50 (D.M. Bravo, 13.3); 3-63 (Charles, 16.3); 4-120 (Gayle, 28.6); 6-215 (Simmons, 43.5); 7-239 (Sammy, 46.5)

Bowling: Mohammad Irfan 10-1-60-2; Mohammad Hafeez 8-1-30-0; Junaid Khan 9-2-39-1 (nb1, w4); Wahab Riaz 6-0-42-1 (nb1, w4); Shahid Afridi 6-0-41-1 (w1); Saeed Ajmal 10-0-43-1

Overs: 49

PAKISTAN (target: 189 off 31 overs)

Nasir Jamshed run out (+Charles/Narine) 22

Ahmed Shahzad lbw b Holder 14

Mohammad Hafeez c D.M. Bravo b Roach 59

*Misbah-ul-Haq not out 53

Shahid Afridi c Simmons b D.J. Bravo 7

+Umar Akmal not out 29

Extras (lb1, w3, nb1) 5

TOTAL (4 wkts) 189

Harris Sohail, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Irfan did not bat

Fall of wickets: 1-20 (Ahmed Shahzad, 4.1 overs); 2-60 (Nasir Jamshed, 14.2); 3-132 (Mohammad Hafeez, 23.3); 4-144 (Shahid Afridi, 25.2)

Bowling: Holder 5-0-41-1 (nb1, w2); Roach 6-1-33-1; Narine 7-0-29-0; Sammy 3-0-10-0; D.J. Bravo 6-0-49-1 (w1); Samuels 3-0-26-0

Result: Pakistan won by six wickets (D/L Method)

Series: Pakistan lead five-match series 2-1

Toss: Pakistan

Man-of-the-Match: M. Samuels (West Indies)

Umpires: S. Davis (Australia), P. Nero

TV umpire: P. Reiffel (Australia)

Match referee: D. Boon (Australia)

Reserve umpire: J. Wilson


Sun, 07/21/2013 - 15:09