Sammy to captain Windwards in Super50


KINGSTOWN, St Vincent – Darren Sammy will return to the captaincy of the Windward Islands cricket team for the Regional Super50 tournament which bowls off in Trinidad next month.

Sammy, who is touring with the West Indies team in New Zealand, will take over from stand-in captain Liam Sebastien, who has been named vice-captain.

The Windward Islands Cricket Board of Control recently announced a 14-member squad for the defence of their title in the West Indies limited overs tournament.

The full squad reads Sammy (captain), Sebastien (vice-captain), Devon Smith, Andre Fletcher, Keddy Lesporis, Johnson Charles, Dalton Polius, Delorn Johnson, Kenroy Peters, Romel Currency, Tyrone Theophile, Alston Bobb, Gary Mathurin and Mervin Mathew.

The three reserves are Miles Bascombe, Nelon Pascal and Ronald Etienne.

The Windward Islands will be pooled in the same group as Jamaica, Guyana and the lone overseas team Ireland.

The other group will feature Trinidad and Tobago, Leeward Islands, Barbados and Combined Campuses and Colleges (CCC).

The teams will compete for the Clive Lloyd Trophy.


Sun, 12/22/2013 - 13:57