Sagicor HPC end tour on a high

Dubai, United Arab Emirates, CMC – Kyle Corbin hit a stroke-filled 53, after an incisive spell from leg-spinner Nkrumah Bonner, propelling the Sagicor High Performance Centre to a nine-wicket victory over the United Arab Emirates in a Twenty20 match that brought the curtain down on their participation in the Carib-Asian Series on Sunday.

Corbin struck six fours and four sixes from 21 balls and shared 92 for the first wicket with Rajendra Chandrika, as the HPC successfully chased down a victory target of 99, formalising the result with 84 balls remaining in the match at the ICC Global Cricket Academy ground.

Chandrika struck half-dozen fours and a single six in 34 not out from 15 balls, as the result meant that the HPC played through the series unbeaten, including a six-wicket victory over the senior West Indies side.

Bonner had taken four wickets and Brandon Bess collected two, as the UAE were dismissed for 98 in 19.4 overs, after they were sent in to bat.

The bowling from the HPC side restricted the UAE batting, as Shaimon Anwer hit the top score of 23 before becoming one of Bonner’s scalps – but no other batsman from the home team reached 20.

Bess struck early and had UAE wobbling on 28 for three before Chirag Suri and Anwer added 42 for the fourth wicket to give the innings some backbone. Bonner then cruelly exposed the frailty of the home team’s batting, as the UAE lost their last seven wickets for 28.

Toss: Sagicor HPC
Result: Sagicor HPC won by 9 wickets
Man-of-the-Match: Kyle Corbin

United Arab Emirates
Faizan Asif b Bess 6
Zamin Jalil c wk Corbin b Permaul 9
Satya Ramesh c wk Corbin Bess 7
Shaimon Anwer c Thomas b Bonner 23
Chirag Suri st Corbin b Bonner 17
Mohammed Azam c Bess b Bonner 2
Muaz Qazi c wk Corbin b Holder 19
Irfan Sajjad c Cottoy b Bonner 3
Aditya Mavru c Chandrika b Brooks 2
Mohsin Hassan not out 1
Muzammil Rizwan run out (Dowrich/Corbin) 0
Extras (lb1, w6, nb2) 9
Total (all out, 19.4 overs) 98
Fall of wickets: 16, 27, 28, 70, 72, 73, 86, 97, 98, 98

Bowling: Bess 4-0-14-2, Holder 3.4-0-13-1, Permaul 4-1-12-1, Cottoy 3-0-24-0, Bonner 3-0-18-4, Brooks 2-0-16-1

Sagicor HPC
Kyle Corbin b Sajjad 53
Rajendra Chandrika not out 34
Nkrumah Bonner not out 8
Extras (w3, nb2) 5
Total (1 wicket, 6 overs) 99
Did not bat: Devon Thomas, Shane Dowrich, Shamarh Brooks, Jason Holder, Keron Cottoy, Brandon Bess, Kevin McClean, Veerasammy Permaul
Wicket fell at: 92
Bowling: Hassan 2-0-33-0, Sajjad 2-0-38-1, Azam 1-0-15-0, Rizwan 1-0-14-0
Umpires: Razzak Shah, Tanvir Mehti

Sun, 10/02/2011 - 14:30