Ryan named Glenora Cricketer of the Year

Trinidad & Tobago Newsday article.

Port of Spain, Trinidad - Earnil Ryan was named as the Cricketer of the Year as the Glenora Sports Club held their 2013 awards ceremony at the VIP Lounge, Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo on Monday evening.

During the Toyota-sponsored North Zone T20 competition, Ryan was the leading run-getter with 212, with a high score of 106. He also starred with the ball, as he was the top wicket-taker with 10 scalps and also had the most economical bowling figures with 3.97 runs per over. 

In the Courts Inter Club competition, he posted the highest individual score of 94 against Sunraisers and, in the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB) North Zone League contest, Ryan tallied 519 runs with two centuries and three half-centuries. 

Also in the reckoning for Cricketer of the Year were Kwinsi Williams (who was the season’s leading run-scorer with 563), national Under-15 player Emilo Gopaul, Christopher Sargeant (the league’s leading wicket- taker with 39, including three five-wicket hauls and a 10-wicket haul) and Clevion Frederick. 

Joel Wilson, the ICC-recognised umpire, delivered the feature address while two members of the TTCB were in attendance — Chief Executive Officer Suruj Ragoonath and third vice-president Patrick Rampersad.

First Published In The Trinidad & Tobago Newsday.

Thu, 10/31/2013 - 04:11