Ronchi, McCullums help Kiwis to victory


AUCKLAND, New Zealand – An unbeaten sixth-wicket partnership between Brendon McCullum and Luke Ronchi rescued New Zealand from a precarious position to win the first Twenty20 International against West Indies by 81 runs on Saturday.

The 85-run stand from 43 balls helped the hosts to 189-5 batting first and restricted West Indies to 108-8 after 20 overs.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Andre Fletcher, who joined the team this week, was West Indies’ highest scorer with 23. Fletcher joined Johnson Charles (16) following the dismissal of Lendl Simmons without scoring.

Nikita Miller and Samuel Badree batted out the West Indies’ innings, finishing on 15 and 14 respectively.

Nathan McCullum (4-24) and James Neesham (3-16), led the bowling for New Zealand.

Earlier, New Zealand reached 189-5, thanks mainly to Brendon McCullum and Ronchi, who frustrated the West Indies’ bowlers. Both batsmen closed their side’s innings unbeaten on 60 and 48 respectively.

Tino Best, who made the initial breakthrough with the dismissal of Martin Guptill for 25, finished with 4-30 from four overs and Nikita Miller had 2-26 from three overs.


Summary Scores:

New Zealand Innings: 189/5 (20 Overs). Brendon McCullum 60*, Luke Ronchi 48*, Martin Guptill 25, Colin Munro 22; Tino Best 4-0-40-3, Nikita Miller 3-0-26-2, Dwayne Bravo 4-0-24-0, Samuel Badree 4-0-25-0.

West Indies Innings: 108/8 (20 Overs). Andre Fletcher 23, Johnson Charles 16, Nikita Miller 15, Samuels Badree 14; Nathan McCullum 4-0-24-4, James Neesham 4-0-16-3, Adam Milne 4-0-15-1, Corey Anderson 4-0-15-0.

Series (New Zealand 1-0 West Indies)


New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Jesse Ryder, Ross Taylor, Brendan McCullum*, Corey Anderson, Luke Ronchi+, Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, James Neesham

West Indies: Johnson Charles, Kieran Powell, Andre Fletcher+, Dwayne Bravo*, Chadwick Walton, Lendl Simmons, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Nikita Miller, Samuel Badree, Tino Best.

New Zealand

M Guptill c Charles b Best 25

J Ryder c Charles b Miller 22

Brendan McCullum not out 60

R Taylor c Bravo b Miller 5

C Munro c †Fletcher b Best 22

C Anderson c Powell b Best 0

L Ronchi not out 48

Total: 189/5 (20 Overs)

Extras: (b 5, w 1, nb 1) 7

Fall of Wickets: 1-38 (Guptill, 3.5 ov), 2-56 (Ryder, 6.4 ov), 3-66 (Taylor, 8.6 ov), 4-103 (Munro, 12.2 ov), 5-104 (Anderson, 12.5 ov).

Did not Bat: Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, James Neesham.

West Indies Bowling: S Badree 4-0-25-0, T Best 4-0-40-3, S Narine 4-0-46-0, N Miller 3-0-26-2, Dwayne Bravo 4-0-24-0, A Russell 1-0-23-0.

West Indies (Target; 190)

J Charles c Ronchi b Neesham 16

L Simmons c Ronchi b Milne 0

A Fletcher c Ryder b Nathan McCullum 23

K Powell c Guptill b Nathan McCullum 12

Dwayne Bravo c Ryder b Nathan McCullum 10

A Russell c Guptill b Nathan McCullum 0

C Walton c Munro b Neesham 9

N Miller not out 15

S Narine c Milne b Neesham 0

S Badree not out 14

Total: 108/8 (20 Overs)

Extras: (lb 2, w 7) 9

Fall of Wickets: 1-11 (Simmons, 1.4 ov), 2-31 (Charles, 4.3 ov), 3-53 (Powell, 8.3 ov), 4-59 (Fletcher, 10.1 ov), 5-64 (Russell, 10.6 ov), 6-75 (Bravo, 12.5 ov), 7-77 (Walton, 13.3 ov), 8-77 (Narine, 13.5 ov).

Did not Bat: Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, James Neesham.

New Zealand Bowling: T Southee 4-0-36-0, A Milne 4-0-15-1, J Neesham 4-0-16-3, Nathan McCullum 4-0-24-4, C Anderson 4-0-15-0.

Result: New Zealand win by 81 runs

Toss: New Zealand won the toss and elected to bat

Man of the Match: Brendon McCullum

Twenty20 International Debuts: K Powell & C Walton

Umpires: Chris Gaffaney & Derek Walker

TV Umpire: Gary Baxter

Match Referee: Chris Broad (England)

Reserve Umpire: Wayne Knights


Sat, 01/11/2014 - 06:53