Richards, Archer among top players in sixth annual Foundation Joel Garner T20 tournament

Barbados Cricket Association article.

Bridgetown, Barbados - Dale Richards, the former Barbados and West Indies opening batsman, is among several top players who will feature in the sixth annual Christ Church Foundation School Joel Garner Twenty20 tournament, which opens on Monday, January 20 at Dover at 7 p.m.

Richards will be on show for the first time as a member of Grantley Adams Memorial (GAM) Old Scholars - one of three newcomers in the popular 16-team championship.

The other new teams are the Old Scholars of Louis Lynch (formerly Roebuck) Secondary and St. Michael.

The opening match features title holders Foundation 'A' Old Scholars, led by the versatile Michael Matthews and Louis Lynch, skippered by Zahir Motara, the experienced ESA Field Pickwick fast bowler, who is also a well-known basketballer and a club-mate of Matthews.

In the Foundation 'A' team is exciting Barbados and West Indies Under-19 team fast bowling all-rounder Jofra Archer, who played a telling role with both bat and ball in the final of the 2013 BCA Intermediate division final against Richards' Isolation Cavaliers at Foursquare Oval, to spur Foundation to the title.

Apart from Motara, another of the leading players in the Louis Lynch side is Vonrick Nurse, the seasoned Carlton batsman.

Matches will again be played at Dover and the neighbouring Briar Hall, home of Maxwell Sports Club, with the semi-finals and final slated for the Foundation ground at Church Hill.

The sponsors include Rubis, Banks Holdings Ltd, Barbados Cricket Association, Caribbean Alliance Insurance, FLOW, WIBISCO, the National Sports Council and Williams Industries.

Teams for the opening match:

Foundation 'A' - Michael Matthews (captain), Renaldo Arthur (vice-captain), Ricardo Yearwood, Shane Browne, Amory Holder, Dwight Carter, Jabari Yarde, Jofra Archer, Michael Holder, Damien Farley, Chad Clarke-Reifer, Chad Proverbs, Rico Webb.

Louis Lynch - Zahir Motara (captain), Vonrick Nurse, Anthony Turton, Damian Harewood, Ava Alexander, Clish Gittens, Michael Bowen, Jamel Richards, Glen Harewood, Dave Taylor,
 Allan Sutherland, Sean Thompson, Roland McConney, Roger Holder, Stephen Bryan, Akeem Nero.

Umpires: Clyde Alleyne, Lawson Cummins.

First Published On

Mon, 01/20/2014 - 04:48