Regional players offsprings in Under 15

St John’s, Antigua – The West Indies Cricket Board Regional Under 15 Tournament which bowls off tomorrow in St Kitts will include the off-springs of two former West Indies players along with the sons and relations of a number of regional players.
Former West Indies wicketkeeper and Assistant Coach David Williams leads the list. Both his son (David Williams Jr) and his nephew (Daniel Williams) will compete for their native Trinidad and Tobago. Like the older Williams, Daniel is a wicketkeeper batsman while David Jr is a right arm fast bowler and right hand batsman
Former West Indies all rounder and current Barbados Under 15 Head Coach Vasbert Drakes’ son, Dominic, is part of the Barbados line up. Dominic Drakes bats left handed and bowls left arm medium pace.
Alex Adams, the former Anguillan and Leeward Islands player, like Williams will have a son and a nephew in the tournament. Dimitri Adams is Alex’s son while his nephew is Jaidel Richardson.
The Leewards squad’s pedigree is also enhanced with the inclusion of Useph Hodge who is the brother of current Anguillan and out-of-favour Leewards opening batsman Montcin Hodge while Ross Powell of Nevis is the son of former Leewards player Ronald Powell.
The Leewards also includes middle order batsman and off spinner Philo Wallace, but he is unrelated to the former Barbados and West Indies opener of the same name.
Johnnel Eugene features in the Windward Islands squad. He is the son of former Windwards batsman John Eugene of St Lucia and who also represented St Marteen.
Taijnarine Chanderpaul, son of current West Indies batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul, played for Guyana in the last edition of the tournament which was played in Trinidad and which was won by Jamaica. Taijnarine has now graduated to the Guyana Under 17 team and participated in the recently concluded WICB Under 17 Tournament. Also featuring in that tournament was Saeed Williams, former West Indies opener Stuart Williams’ son.
The two week Under 15 Tournament will consist of 15 two day matches played under tailor made rules for junior cricket.
The first round bowls off on Wednesday July 18th and the tournament concludes on July 31st.
The tournament will see the continuation of the use of the Pace Wickets Bonus Points system which was implemented by the WICB to encourage teams to use their fast bowlers. The system will award teams 0.5 points for each wicket taken by a fast bowler on that team. All bonus points will be added to the match points.
As has become customary, the WICB will also host a Player Development Seminar during the tournament. WICB Player Relations Officer Ayana Cooper in conjunction with a former international player will make presentations to the region’s Under 15 cricketers.

Barbados: Kevon Bartlett, Leniko Boucher, Daniel Chesham, Deswin Currency, Dominic Drakes, Jadeja Edwards, Tremaine Harris, Nadjee Holder, Nicholas Kirton, Sylvester Moore, Hasani Newton, Limar Pierce, Shamar Springer, Shakeel Turney
Head Coach: Vasbert Drakes
Team Manager: Livingstone Puckerin

Guyana: Akenie Adams, Malcolm Hubbard, Satesh Latchana, Keven Martinborough, Siddiq Mohamed, Keemo Paul, Nathan Persaud, Travis Persaud, Nicoloi Reddy, Ronaldo Renee, Shefane Rutherford, Ewert Samuels, Mark Williams, Bhaskar Yadram

Head Coach: Gavin Nedd
Team Manager: Virendra Chintamani

Jamaica: Michael Frew (Captain), Romario Brandon Brown, Romario Withmore Brown, David Curtis, Javelle Glen, Evan Jones, Simon Lee, Shemar McKoy (wicketkeeper), Rayon Nelson, Orande Pearson, Devaraine Rowe, Orlando Rowe, Demali Taylor, Andrew Thompson
Head Coach: Terrence Corke
Manager: Richard Walters

Leeward Islands: Jaeel Clarke (Captain/Wicketkeeper), Dimitri Adams, Kizan David, Zubin Deyal, Shelton Forbes, Karima Gore, Useph Hodge, Jerrickson Louis, Kenneth Pennyfeather, Ross Powell (Wicketkeeper), Jaidel Richardson, Mrinal Wadhwa, Philo Wallace, Tyrone Williams
Head Coach: Keith Arthurton
Team Manager: Junie Mitcham

Trinidad and Tobago: Shatrughan Rambaran (Captain), Sachin Balai, Bryan Boodram, Dejourn Charles, Jervon Garcia, Vishal Gunnes, Bhushan Garcia, Brandon Maharaj, Keron Persaud, Jarlarnie Seales, Keagan Simmons, Negus Smith, Daniel Williams, David Williams Jr.
Head Coach: Glen Dwarika
Team Manager: Anthony Ramjit

Windward Islands: Darel Cyrus (Captain), Jurani Baptiste, Deon Burton (Wicketkeeper), Christian Charlery, Shakim Charles, Vincent Cupid Jr, Nick Elibox, Johnnel Eugene, Vernillus Gabriel, Ryan John, Brian Joseph, Joshua Mann, Anil Matthew, Jenson Mitchel
Head Coach: Dwain Gill
Team Manager: Alton Crafton

Wed, 07/18/2012 - 07:50