Ravi in; Windies bat

New Delhi, India – West Indies captain Darren Sammy won the toss and immediately chose to bat in the first Test against India at the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium.

The Windies retained the opening combination of Kieran Powell and Kraigg Brathwaite while Adrian Barath missed out. Also missing out was Kemar Roach with Ravi Rampaul coming back into the fold.

Click here for live score updates

Birthday boy Devendra Bishoo is the lone specialist spinner.

India handed Test caps to Ravichandran Ashwin and Umesh Yadav while Yuvraj Singh was given the nod for the number six spot ahead of Suresh Raina and Virat Kohli.

Windies XI: K Powell, K Brathwaite, K Edwards, D Bravo, S Chanderpaul, M Samuels, D Sammy*, C Baugh†, Rampaul, D Bishoo, F Edwards

India XI: G Gambhir*, V Sehwag, R Dravid, S Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni*†, R Ashwin, I Sharma, P Ojha, U Yadav.

Sat, 11/05/2011 - 20:26