Rain forces T&T to settle for runners-up

Georgetown, Guyana, CMC – Rain dealt Trinidad and Tobago a harsh blow here Monday, ruining the final day of their all-important, final round Regional Four-Day contest with Guyana and wrecking their chances of winning the WICB President’s Trophy.

Starting the day needing a victory to overtake Barbados and clinch top honours, T&T were left disappointed after rain allowed just 29 overs, forcing a dreaded stalemate at the Guyana National Stadium.

Click Here For Day 1 Report.

Click Here For Day 2 Report.

Click Here For Day 3 Report.

In the time possible, Guyana reached 80 for three, after resuming the day on 17 for one, requiring a further 208 runs for victory.

Captain Leon Johnson was unbeaten on 30 and nightwatchman Devendra Bishoo, not out on 25, when time was called on the contest late in the day.

T&T’s demise gifted Barbados the title following the defending champions’ trouncing of the Leewards Islands by an innings and 49 runs at the Vivian Richards Cricket Ground in Antigua on Sunday.

Barbados ended on 82 points while T&T finished on 80, after gaining just eight points from the drawn encounter.

The signs of rain were present from early in the morning and when the adverse weather finally arrived, it delayed the start by 70 minutes.

Once play got underway, however, Trinidad and Tobago wasted little time in making inroads, as pacer Marlon Richards trapped opener Tagenarine Chanderpaul, lbw for seven, with the score on 33 in the sixth over of the day.

Richards, who finished with two for 21, then had Shimron Hetmyer taken at mid-off by captain Rayad Emrit for four, reducing Guyana to 43 for three.

Johnson joined Bishoo to halt the side, in a fourth wicket stand that was worth 37, and which took Guyana to lunch at 64 for three.

Only six overs were possible after the interval before rain returned again, this time keeping the players off the field for over three hours and virtually killing off T&T’s chances.

When play finally resumed at 4:52 pm, the visitors’ fate was already sealed and both sides called it quits 17 deliveries later.


Summary Scores:

Trinidad & Tobago 1st Innings: 274/3 (93 Overs). Evin Lewis 64, Darren Bravo 61, Imran Khan 44, Rayad Emrit* 26; Davendra Bishoo 38.4-15-78-9, Keon Joseph 19-5-53-1, Trevon Griffith 4-1-4-0, Ronsford Beaton 16-3-48-0.

Guyana 1st Innings: 282 All Out (92.3 Overs). Leon Johnson* 78, Zaheer Mohammed Shadir 58, Christopher Barnwell 50, Davendra Bishoo 27; Amit Jaggernauth 24-5-78-4, Rayad Emrit 9.3-2-39-3, Shannon Gabriel 20-4-44-2, Jason Mohammed 14-3-27-0.

Trinidad & Tobago 2nd Innings: 212 All Out (59.4 Overs). Jason Mohammed 33, Stephen Katwaroo 32, Imran Khan 29, Lendl Simmons 25; Davendra Bishoo 22.4-5-71-6, Keon Joseph 14-4-55-4, Zaheer Mohammed Shadir 15-1-45-0, Ronsford Beaton 4-1-7-0.

Guyana 2nd Innings: 80/3 (40 Overs). Leon Johnson* 30*, Davendra Bishoo 25*, Trevon Griffith 13, Tagenarine Chanderpaul 7; Marlon Richards 7-1-21-2, Amit Jaggernauth 14-4-18-1, Jason Mohammed 6-2-9-0, Rayad Emrit 5-3-8-0.

Match Drawn


Trinidad & Tobago 1st Innings

L Simmons c Singh b Joseph 12

E Lewis LBW Bishoo 64

D Bravo LBW Bishoo 61

J Mohammed c Griffith b Bishoo 17

J Augustus c Johnson b Bishoo 15

R Emrit* c Barnwell b Bishoo 26

S Katwaroo+ c Bramble b Bishoo 3

I Khan c Barnwell b Bishoo 44

M Richards LBW Bishoo 20

A Jaggernauth c Beaton b Bishoo 12

S Gabriel not out 4

Total: 294 All Out (101.4 Overs)

Extras: (b5, lb9, nb2) 15

Fall of Wickets: 1-35, 2-128, 3-147, 4-164, 5-187, 6-207, 7-220, 8-266, 9-285, 10-294.

Guyana 1st Innings Bowling: R Beaton 16-3-48-0, K Joseph 19-5-53-1, C Barnwell 12-2-47-0, M Shadir 12-0-50-0, D Bishoo 38.4-15-78-9, T Griffith 4-1-4-0.

Guyana 1st Innings

T Griffith c Katwaroo b Gabriel 23

T Chanderpaul run out Augustus 14

S Hetmyer c Richards b Jaggernauth 0

L Johnson* c Katwaroo b Jaggernauth 78

V Singh c Katwaroo b Jaggernauth 2

A Bramble+ b Jaggernauth 16

C Barnwell LBW Emrit 50

Z Shadir c Jaggernauth b Emrit 58

D Bishoo b Gabriel 27

R Beaton c Jaggernauth b Emrit 1

K Joseph not out 5

Extras (b4, lb2, w1, nb1) 8

Total: 282 All Out (92.3 Overs)

Fall of Wickets: 1-34, 2-37, 3-51, 4-59, 5-89, 6-169, 7-213, 8-275, 9-275, 10-282.

Trinidad & Tobago 1st Innings Bowling: S Gabriel 20-4-44-2, M Richards 4-0-21-0, A Jaggernauth 24-5-78-4, J Mohammed 14-3-27-0, I Khan 21-3-67-0, R Emrit 9.3-2-39-3.

Trinidad & Tobago 2nd Innings (Lead; 12)

L Simmons b Joseph 25

S Katwaroo+ LBW Joseph 32

D Bravo LBW Bishoo 8

J Mohammed c Shadir b Bishoo 33

E Lewis c Singh b Bishoo 12

J Augustus lbw b Bishoo 2

R Emrit* b Bishoo 20

I Khan c Shadir b Joseph 29

M Richards LBW Joseph 25

A Jaggernauth  LBW Bishoo 13

S Gabriel not out 0

Total: 212 All Out (59.4 Overs)

Extras: (b8, lb2, nb3) 13

Fall of wickets: 1-37, 2-71, 3-77, 4-99, 5-110, 6-139, 7-146, 8-183, 9-212, 10-212.

Guyana 2nd Innings Bowling: R Beaton 4-1-7-0, K Joseph 14-4-55-4, C Barnwell 2-0-11-0, T Griffith 2-0-13-0, D Bishoo 22.4-5-71-6, Z Shadir 15-1-45-0.

Guyana 2nd Innings (Target; 225)

T Griffith LBW Jaggernauth 13

T Chanderpaul LBW Richards 7

D Bishoo not out 25

S Hetmyer c Emrit b Richards 4

L Johnson* not out 30

Total: 80/3 (40 Overs)

Extras: (lb1) 1

Fall of Wicket: 1-17, 2-33, 3-43.

Did not Bat: Ronsford Beaton, Anthony Bramble, Christopher Barnwell, Keon Joseph, Zaheer Mohamed, Vishal Singh

Trinidad & Tobago 2nd Innings Bowling: S Gabriel 6-1-12-0, R Emrit 5-3-8-0, A Jaggernauth 14-4-18-1, J Mohammed 6-2-9-0, M Richards 7-1-21-2, I Khan 2-0-11-0.

Result: Match Drawn

Man of the Match: Davendra Bishoo (Guyana)

Final points: T&T 8 (2 batting points + 3 bowling points + 3 draw points) | Guyana 8 (3 bowling points + 2 batting point + 3 draw points)

Toss: Trinidad & Tobago won the toss and elected to bat

Umpires: Nigel Duguid & Gregory Brathwaite

Standby Umpire: Imran Moakan

Match Referee: Colin Stuart

Mon, 04/14/2014 - 13:08