Queen’s Park vs PowerGen in Sunday League semis

Trinidad Express article.

Port of Spain, Trinidad - The 2013 Premier Division Sunday League winners Queen’s Park Cricket Club and runners-up PowerGen will meet in this year’s semifinals after both teams breezed past their respective quarterfinal opponents on Thursday night. 

The defending champions Queen’s Park, led by Daron Cruickshank’s 63 and two wickets for 22, defeated Moosai Sports by 64 runs at UTT Ground in O’Meara while PowerGen beat Caldrac Club by 100 runs at Kennedy Park, Diamond Village.

First Citizens Clarke Road United will take on Jenexcon Tableland in the other semifinal.

Clarke Road beat Merry Boys by 22 runs in their quarterfinal game while Tableland secured their place in the last four with a two-wicket win over Seenath’s Auto Bamboo Sports.

Nicholas Pooran, who slammed a century for West Indies in the ICC Under-19 World Cup recently, made 53 for Clarke Road in their win on Thursday night while William Perkins smashed an unbeaten 79 to guide Tableland to victory.

At O’Meara, the Parkites found themselves in early trouble at 87 for five before Cruickshank and Tion Webster (34) put on 82 runs for the sixth wicket to salvage the innings and get their team up to a decent score.

Queen’s Park eventually made 200 for nine with Jeremy Solozano, who recently returned from the ICC Under-19 World Cup, also contributing to the total with 48. 

Moosai’s chase got off to a slow start and also benefitted from a couple missed chances in the field before the Parkites got their act together with left-arm spinner Khary Pierre making an immediate impact.

Pierre grabbed four for 20 as Moosai were dismissed 136.

Summarised Scores 

At O’Meara

QPCC 200-9 (50 overs) (Daron Cruickshank 63, Jeremy Solozano 48, Tion Webster 34; Namir Suepaul 3/30, Jed Yearwood 2/20, Adrian Cooper 2/50) vs Moosai 136 (43.2 overs) (Omar Phillips 30, Jed Yearwood 30, Vikash Mohan 26; Khary Pierre 4/20, Kevon Cooper 2/19, Daron Cruickshank 2/22, Jason Batson 2/27)

— QPCC won by 64 runs

At Calcutta Ground

First Citizens Clarke Road 249-9 (50 overs) (Nicholas Pooran 53, Ranga Lachana 49, Sean Siloch 39, Yannick Ottley 40, Ryan Ramdass 28; Atiba Allert 2/56) vs Merry Boys 227 (49.4 overs) (Mario Belcon 47, Aneil Kanhai 35, Akeem Alvarez 38; Yannick Ottley 4/33, Kissoondath Magram 2/37, Derone Davis 3/52)

— Clarke Road won by 22 runs

At Kennedy Park

PowerGen 254-7 (50 overs) (Nicholas Sookdeosingh 47, Sherwin Ganga 43, Gregory Mahabir 38, Akiel Cooper 37, Gibran Mohammed 26; Jon Ross Jaggesar 2/29, Franklyn Rouse 2/35) vs Caldrac Club 154 (42.1 overs) (Sharmarh Brooks 53; Ansil Bhaggan 4/32, Sherwin Ganga 3/21)

— PowerGen won by 100 runs

At Syne Village

Seenath’s Auto Bamboo Sports 263-8 (50 overs) (Marc Panchu 50, Krishna Arjune 50; Daniel St Clair 2/40, Daryl Williams 2/45, Negus Carthy 2/72) vs Jenexcon Tableland 267-8 (41.3 overs) (William Perkins 79 n.o., Daniel St Clair 49, Brent Harriot 43; Ryan Baksh 4/49, Lyndell Nelson 2/53)

— Tableland won by two wickets

Semifinal Fixtures


QPCC vs PowerGen


Clarke Road vs Tableland

First Published In The Trinidad Express.

Fri, 03/07/2014 - 18:49