Quarter-final spots up for grabs

Trinidad Express article.

Port of Spain, Trinidad - The third round of matches in the Premier Division Twenty20 competition takes place today with four teams in prime position to secure quarter-final spots.

Defending champions PowerGen Sports, Sunday League 50-over winners First Citizens Clarke Road United, current National League leaders Merry Boys and the newly promoted Munroe Road Sports are all on six points and wins for them today will confirm their place in the knock-out round.

PowerGen, who are on top of the Group B standings, travel to Gilbert Park in California for a showdown with Caldrac Club, who defeated CLICO Preysal last Wednesday to move up to third on the standings with three points.

In the other key game in Group B, Clarke Road, with T&T Red Steel player Nicholas Pooran and T&T T20 all-rounder Yannick Ottley in their squad, face Jenexcon Tableland, who will have the services aggressive opener William Perkins.

The other game in Group A will see the bottom two teams CLICO Preysal and Esmeralda Sports go head-to-head at Inshan Ali Park.

Both teams are winless and will be seeking their first points in the competition.

In Group A, Merry Boys are at the top of the standings and will face Seenath’s Auto Bamboo Sports at Diego Martin Recreation Ground today.

The two sides met in the League competition over the weekend at the same venue, with the hosts Merry Boys coming out on top. Bamboo are winless so far in both the League and the T20 and will be hoping to get their campaign back on track today. 

With four teams from each group going through to the quarter-finals, Bamboo can still qualify but will have to win their remaining matches to keep alive their chances.

Munroe Road are also a win away from a place in the last eight. They host Moosai Sports at Munroe Road Ground today.

In the other match today, Queen’s Park Cricket Club will be looking to bounce back from their loss to Merry Boys in the previous round when they host Alescon Comets at Queen’s Park Oval.

All matches bowl off at 2 p.m.

Today’s Premier 

Division T20 fixtures

Group A

• Munroe Road vs Moosai Sports, Munroe Road Ground

• QPCC vs Alescon Comets, Queen’s Park Oval

• Merry Boys vs Seenath’s Auto Bamboo Sports, Diego Martin

Group B

• Jenexcon Tableland vs First Citizens Clarke Road United, Tableland

• CLICO Preysal vs Esmeralda Sports, Inshan Ali Park

• Caldrac Club vs PowerGen Sports, Gilbert Park

Premier Division T20 standings

Group A

Teams GP W L Pts

1. Merry Boys 2 2 0 6

2. Munroe Road 2 2 0 6

3. QPCC 2 1 1 3

4. Moosai 2 1 1 3

5. Bamboo 2 0 2 0

6. Comets 2 0 2 0

Group B

Teams GP W L Pts

1. PowerGen 2 2 0 6

2. Clarke Road 2 2 0 6

3. Caldrac Club 2 1 1 3

4. Tableland 2 1 1 3

5. Esmeralda 2 0 2 0

6. Preysal 2 0 2 0

First Published In The Trinidad Express.

Tue, 04/15/2014 - 17:47