Pooran named Clarke Road’s Youth Cricketer of Year

Trinidad Guardian article.

Clarke Road, Trinidad - West Indies under-19 and national player Nicholas Pooran was named Youth Cricketer of the Year at First Citizens Clarke Road annual awards dinner on the recent.

Pooran played for the national senior team, as well as the CPL team Red Steel during the year and returned some credible performances. He represented Clarke Road with honours when opportunities allowed in 2013.

The senior cricketer of the year was the Guyanese opening batsman Ryan Ramdass. 

Both players received the top awards as a good showing of players, officials and supporters turned up at Wilson Road for the annual awards.

Among those present were two former presidents of the T&T Cricket Board (TTCB) in Alloy Lequay and Ellis Lewis, as well as current executive member Ian Ramlal. 

Those present listened to a comprehensive club report delivered by coach Dasrath Maharaj which highlighted the clubs activities during the 2013 season. 

This included a focus on strong youth development, which the club continues to pursue with unabated vigour. 

The club boasts of having produced a number of West Indies Under 19 players including Tishan Maraj, Rishi Bachan, Derone Davis, Kieron Joseph and Nicholas Pooran.

On the same day of the function, the clubs Under-13 team left for a four match tour of Barbados. This followed previous youth development tours to Tobago, Guyana and Barbados—over the past three years.

First Citizens Clarke Road United is highly considered for its pioneering work and vision in terms of rural club development in Trinidad and Tobago.

Honour Roll

Five cricketers of the Year—Ryan Ramdass, Ranga Latchana, Shazam Babwah,

Mukesh Persad, Sanjiv Gooljar.

Cricketer of the year—Ryan Ramdass

Reserve League Cricketer of the Year—Ryan Oudit

Youth Cricketer of the Year—Nicholas Pooran

Club member of the Year—Dasrath Maharaj

For outstanding contributions to Coaching School—Chanroutie Persad

Past Player for outstanding contributions to club—David Sultan

For outstanding contribution to club and community and success in the business world—Sasenarine Deonarine

Club member on National U-17 Team—Clevon Khalawan

Club members on National U-19 team—Clevon Khalawan, Al Small, Nicholas Pooran

Club member on National Senior Team—Nicholas Pooran

Club member as coach National U-15 Team—Glen Dwarika

Club Member as coach National U-17 Team—Dasrath Maharaj

Club member as Manager National U-19 Team—Roland Sampath

First Published In The Trinidad Guardian.

Thu, 12/19/2013 - 08:44