Pooran, Jordan steer Clarke Road into Sunday League final

Trinidad Express article.

Port of Spain, Trinidad - West Indies Under-19 players Nicholas Pooran and Ray Jordan combined to put First Citizens Clarke Road into the final of the Premier Division Sunday League 50-over competition, leading the Penal team to an easy 100-run win over Jenexcon Tableland in their semifinal game at Syne Village in Penal, on Wednesday.

In front of a small crowd, Pooran, who slammed a century in the ICC Under-19 World Cup, hit 67 to lead Clarke Road to 203 all out off 43 overs when they won the toss and elected to bat first.

Tableland were dismissed for 103 in reply with Trinidad and Tobago batsman Evin Lewis providing the only resistance with 52. For Clarke Road, medium pacer Jordan grabbed three for 22 from four overs before spinner Kissoondath Magram grabbed three for six in 1.5 overs to give their team an easy victory.

When Clarke Road batted, Pooran hit eight fours and two sixes in a 43-run stand with Yannick Ottley (15) to help his team recover after they slipped to 93 for four.

Pooran was just getting into stride, hitting pacer Brent Harriot for two fours and a six in one over when he was run out towards the end of the innings.

Daryl Williams snatched three for 26 coming down to the end to stall the Clarke Road innings and give his team a small total to chase.

But Tableland could not cope with Jordan who sent back both openers, Stephen Taylor and Al Small before Lewis began to resist.

However, the left-hander could only watch as wickets tumbled at the other end.

Jordan also accounted for William Perkins before the Clarke Road spinners took over. The veteran Mukesh Persad grabbed two and Ottley got one before Magram finished the job.

Tableland will face defending champions Queen’s Park Cricket Club in the final of the tournament which is tentatively set for next Wednesday.


Clarke Road Innings

A Ali c Williams b St Clair 29

R Ramdass c wkp Taylor b Harriot 0

S Siloch b Roy 20

R Lachana c wkp Taylor b St Clair 27

N Pooran run out 67

Y Ottley b Carthy 15

D Davis c wkp Taylor b Williams 0

V Siew stp wkp Taylor b Williams 14

K Magram stp wkp Taylor b Williams 6

R Jordan lbw Carthy 3

M Persad not out 0

Extras: (b 2, lb 1, w 17, nb 2) 22

TOTAL: (all out; 43 overs) 203

Wickets at: 0 (Ramdass), 31 (Siloch), 78 (Ali), 93 (Lachana), 136 (Ottley), 137 (Davis), 186 (Siew), 188 (Pooran), 196 (Jordan), 203 (Magram)

BOWLING: Harriot 7-0-48-1; Roy 5-0-29-1; St Clair 10-0-44-2; Small 1-0-8-0; Thompson 10-1-28-0; Carthy 4-0-23-2; Williams 5-0-26-3

Tableland Innings (Target: 204)

S Taylor c Ramdass b Jordan 15

A Small c Lachana b Jordan 0

E Lewis c sub (Roopnarine) b Magram 52

W Perkins c Lachana b Jordan 14

K Thompson run out 6

L Roberts stp wk Ali b Ottley 0

D St Clair b Persad 1

B Harriot b Persad 6

N Carthy c wk Ali b Magram 0

K Roy not out 0

D Williams b Magram 0

Extras: (b 5, w 4) 9

TOTAL: (all out; 20.5 overs) 103

Wickets at: 1 (Small), 25 (Taylor), 41 (Perkins), 81 (Thompson), 81 (Roberts), 84 (St Clair), 102 (Lewis), 102 (Harriot), 102 (Carthy), 103 (Williams)

BOWLING: Jordan 4-0-22-3; Lachana 3-0-22-0; Davis 2-0-21-0; Persad 6-1-19-2; Ottley 4-2-8-1; Magram 1.5-0-6-3

Toss: Won by Clarke Road who elected to bat first

Result: Clarke Road won by 100 runs

Umpires: A Sanowar, S Lakhram

First Published In The Trinidad Express.

Thu, 03/13/2014 - 18:25