Pickwick confirmed in quarter-finals of Sagicor General T20 championship

Barbados Cricket Association article.

Bridgetown, Barbados - ESA Field Pickwick have been confirmed as the last team to qualify for the quarter-finals of the 2014 BCA Sagicor General Twenty20 championship following their hard-fought four-wicket win over Guardian General Barbados Youth at Foursquare Oval Saturday.

The 18-team tournament was divided into three zones and based on the General Rules, the top two teams in each zone plus the two best third-placed teams shall meet in the quarter-finals. 

The top two teams in the each of the three zones with points and Net Run Rate (NRR) were: 

Zone 'A' - Sagicor Life UWI 16 (+3.071), Super Centre Spartan 16 (+1.804) .

Zone 'B' - CGI Maple 20 (+1.719), LIME 16 (+1.982).

Zone 'C' - CounterPoint Wanderers 20 (+0.865), YMPC 12 (+0.715).

As it turned out, the two best third-placed teams were Premix & Precast Yorkshire by virtue of winning the most games (four) in Zone 'A' and Zone 'Cs' Pickwick who had a superior NRR of +0.397 over Zone B’s Barbados Defence Force Sports Programme (BDFSP) with -0.864. 

In what was a tense fifth and final preliminary series for some teams, Pickwick, spurred by a brilliant half-century from experienced Barbados and West Indies fast bowler Tino Best, recovered from dire straits at 67 for five in the ninth over to win with seven balls to spare as they chased 152 off 20 overs.

Best slammed 52 off 34 balls with three fours and three sixes in a telling sixth-wicket partnership of 73 in 8.4 overs with Rohan Ryan, who was unbeaten on 28.

Barbados Youth made 151 for five after they were sent in.

A draw for the quarter-final matches will take place at the Secretariat of the Barbados Cricket Association on Monday, May 19, at 10:00 am. 

All matches in the knockout rounds will be played at Kensington Oval, starting at 7:00 pm. 

The quarterfinals are slated for May 21, 22, 25 & 26.

The semi-finals are scheduled for May 29 & 30, and the final on June 1. 

Admission for all matches will be $5.00 and patrons will be accommodated in the 3Ws Stand. 

Final preliminary standings, with Net Run Rates where applicable:

ZONE A - Sagicor Life UWI 16 (+3.071), Super Centre Spartan 16 (+1.804), Premix & Precast Yorkshire 16 (+1.550), Wildey 8, Brathwaite Construction/Republic Bank St. Catherine 4, Police 0. 

ZONE B - CGI Maple 20 (+1.719), LIME 16 (+1.982), BDFSP 12 (-0.864), Digicel Carlton 8, BRC BCL 4, Caribbean Alliance Insurance/Akobah Gardens Foundation 0. 

ZONE C - CounterPoint Wanderers 20 (+0.865), YMPC 12 (+0.715), ESA Field Pickwick 12 (+0.397), Guardian General Barbados Youth 12 (+0.209), ICBL Empire 4, Ince Transport MTW 0.

First Published On bcacricket.org.

Mon, 05/19/2014 - 04:15