Oneal, Corey Yearwood star as Boyce XI retain Keith Boyce Memorial title with 23-run win over Maple

Barbados Cricket Association article.

Bridgetown, Barbados - Set up by half-centuries from Corey Yearwood and Don Oneal, Keith Boyce XI fittingly retained the 2013 Keith Boyce Memorial limited overs title with a 23-run victory over Maple in the final on Sunday.

Playing at the picturesque and big Keith Boyce Pavilion ground at Diamond Corner in St. Peter, Boyce XI scored 213 for four off the allotted 35 overs.

Yearwood, a former Spartan First division batsman, who is now coach and occasional player for ESA Field Pickwick in the BCA Elite and Sagicor General limited overs competitions, topscored with 61 while Oneal, ironically, a current Maple domestic player, contributed 54.

Maple were bowled out for 190 in 33.4 overs. Jed Yearwood scored 41 and bulky Shawn Ramsay 31.

Burly fast bowler Ryan Nurse grabbed four for 36, man-of-the-match Oneal picked up two for 34, while skipper Rondelle Yearwood, the Pickwick Elite division captain, known for many years as a wicket-keeper/batsman, picked up two for 52, as he trundled off-breaks which hardly turned towards the end as the sun had well set.

Rondelle is the brother of Corey Yearwood.

The last tournament was played in 2011 when the Boyce XI crushed Conrad Hunte by 108 runs in the final, also at Diamond Corner.

Corey Yearwood also starred in that final with a match topscore of 60.

Boyce was an energetic Barbados and West Indies fast bowling all-rounder, who also played with distinction for Essex in the English County championship. He died suddenly on his 53rd birthday, October 11, 1996.

Also a brilliant fielder, Boyce represented Maple in the BCA Division 1 championship after turning out for his alma mater, Coleridge & Parry.


At Diamond Corner:

Keith Boyce XI beat Maple by 23 runs.

Keith Boyce Xl  213-4 (35 overs) (Corey Yearwood 61, Don Oneal 54, Larry Babb 31, Jamal Smith 26 not out, Reydon Toppin 10; Dario Cummins 2-41).

Maple 190 all out (33.4 overs) (Jed Yearwood 41, Shawn Ramsay 31, Mario Albert 29, Dario Cummins 15 not out, Pedro Agard 13, Shane Ramsay 13, Brian Corbin 11, Collis Worrell 10; Ryan Nurse 4-36, Don Oneal 2-34, Rondelle Yearwood 2-52).

Toss: Maple.

Man-of-the-Match: Don Oneal.

First Published On

Tue, 05/07/2013 - 07:52