Nu Iron beat TTEC for quarters spot

Trinidad & Tobago Newsday article.

PORT OF SPAIN, TRINIDAD - Nu Iron Limited salvaged a crucial spot in the quarter-final round of the 2013 SIS Super Ten Industrial Cricket League when they put an abrupt end to TTEC’s unbeaten streak at the Plipdeco grounds, Point Lisas, on Friday.

The ‘Electric Boys’ won the toss and opted to bat first as the ‘Iron Men’ were intent to go all out in their final group fixture.

It was a dream start for Nu Iron, as they had the defending champions reeling at three for 10 in the third over.

Kevin Mohammed had the early breakthrough when he had Arnold Ram caught for two.

Soon after, Riad Adams returned to the stands similarly for five runs.

Captain Devindra Kangal mounted a small comeback and took the score to 24 before he was bowled by eventual man of the match, Jason Samuel. He top scored with nine.

However, TTEC never recovered and were eventually bowled out for a dismal 40 runs in 9.1 overs. 

In their turn at the crease, Nu Iron were well aware of the TTEC bowling attack. They got to 12 before Akeef Mohammed was caught off the bowling of Kris Jacob, while Jason Samuel soon followed for eight with the score on 16 for two. 

Jagdith Siew and Sheldon Cumberbatch put on a small 15-run partnership that propelled the score to 31, before Siew fell to Devindra Kangal for six.

Cumberbatch went on to top score with 11 runs and by the time his wicket fell, Nu Iron could taste victory.

They went on to win by five wickets, getting to a victorious 42 for the loss of five. Nu Iron have now solidified their qualification spot in the knockout round which is scheduled to bowl off tomorrow.

Even though TTEC lost their final group match, they have also qualified for the knockout stages. 

At the IPSL Grounds, hosts Super Industrial Services romped to a comfortable nine-wicket win over Powergen (Point Lisas).

Powergen, who were unable to qualify to the quarter-finals, chose to bat first and struggled early on. With just 12 runs to their name by the third over, they already had three batsmen back in the stands as SIS bowled precisely.

S. Jagmohan was the main destroyer early on claiming two of the three wickets with his medium pace bowling. When captain Ravi Rampaul fell for just one with the score on 27 in the fourth over, things looked dim for Powergen.

But, D. Mahabir (17) and D. Seurattan (10) played their team back into the game with some very sensible batting.

The pair put on 17 runs which included a pair of fours and sixes that took the score to 44 in the seventh over before Seurattan was caught going for a big hit off Avinash Ramlakhan’s bowling. 

Powergen’s lower order proved to be most troublesome. L. Jacob and S. Bean came together after Mahabir fell with the score on 46 and they punished SIS for some wayward bowling late in the innings.

Jacob ended on 19 not out and Bean scored 12 as they saw Powergen close on a healthy 77 for seven in their 10 overs. 

SIS however, made light work of their target. After hitting two massive sixes, opener Kevin Kallo was comprehensively bowled by L. Jacob for 13 in the second over.

There would be no more celebrating for Powergen though as Scott Ragbir showed stern resistance against their bowling, and blasted them to all parts of the ground without disdain.

Ragbir, together with Dinesh Rambajhan saw their team home to a nine wicket victory although Rambajhan was more of a spectator.

Ragbir scored 54 not out, which included eight sixes and a four to see his team home (78/1) inside of five overs. 

SIS have now finished second in their Group and will play their quarterfinal fixture on Wednesday.

First Published In The Trinidad & Tobago Newsday.

Tue, 06/11/2013 - 02:35