Neita is new president of Melbourne CC


Jamaica Observer article.

Kingston, Jamaica - Former national cricketer Mark Neita was elected president of the Melbourne Cricket Club at their 120th Annual General Meeting at the club's Courtney Walsh Drive home in Kingston on Thursday last.

Other members of the board are Laurence Crichton, who remains first vice-president; Dennis Gordon, second vice-president; Neil Reese, honorary secretary; Roy Porter, who was returned honorary treasurer; and James Stewart, the newly elected club captain.

The board will have in its support five committee members. They are Tareque White and Glendon Newsome, Neville Walker, who was first VP in the last committee, and newly elected members David Wong and Roger Robotham. Nikita Miller was also returned as captain of the cricket team.

Trustees to the club are Justice Howard Cooke Jnr, Michael Hoshue and Tony Becca.

Melbourne CC was established in 1892 to provide a club for men of "modest means". It was the third club to be established in Kingston, after Kingston Cricket Club and Kensington Cricket Club.

During that period the club has produced 13 cricketers who represented the West Indies and another 27 who have represented Jamaica.

The club has traditionally been one of the strongest clubs in the country, having won the Kingston Senior Cup seven times straight.

Melbourne have produced some of West Indies' finest including fast bowlers Michael Holding and Courtney Walsh who are both legends of cricket, and of recent vintage all-rounder Marlon Samuels and wicketkeeper batsman Carlton Baugh Jnr.

First Published In The Jamaica Observer.

Sun, 02/02/2014 - 12:18