Moosai defeats defending champions

Trinidad & Tobago Newsday article.

PORT OF SPAIN, TRINIDAD - Moosai Ladies continued their quest to claim title number three this season with a 45-run win over defending champions Phoenix Women in their TT Women’s Cricket Association (TTWCA) Premiership T20 match at the Dinsley Cricket Ground number two, Eddie Hart Savannah on Saturday.

This was the fourth time the El Dorado-based team has defeated Phoenix, twice in the league on their way to retaining the title as well as in the Knock-out where they also retained that title. 

Moosai taking first strike amassed 147 for six from their allotted overs with former West Indies and TT opener Amanda Samaroo scoring 42. She got valuable support from Jamaican all-rounder Chadean Nation who made 33 and captain Leeann Kirby with 26. Britney Cooper took two for 28 while Shenelle Lord had two for 30. 

The defending champions had a good start with Cooper and Karisha Ramdeo putting on 34 for the first wicket before the latter was dismissed for 20. Nicloe Steeling who made 16 added 26 for the third wicket with Cooper but could not carry on.

Lord was next to be dismissed, given run out by the umpire after she nicked a Samaroo’s delivery to the wicket keeper and started to walk.

Moosai’s appeal for the catch at the wicket was turned down before the wicket keeper took off the bails with Lord out of her crease. Cooper continued to fight but her end came in Samaroo’s next over as she was bowled for 31 and at the end her team could only reach 102 for five when the overs ran out.

Samaroo ended with three for 20 while Nation had two for 18. 

In the other match on ground number one Pinto Spice Girls pulled off a 38-run win over Technocrats in their encounter. Spice Girls batting first made 146 for three with Tamika Sanford making 47. Ann Marie Mc Ewen added 41 and Vanessa Watts chipped in with 30. Stacy Ann King and Gaitri Seetahal had a wicket each. 

Technocrats chasing 147 for victory were restricted to 108 for seven. West Indies and TT all-rounder King top scored with 32 while Seetahal made 26 and Candace La Borde added 22. Alice Collins grabbed three for 14 while Mc Ewen had two and Watts one wicket.

First Published In The Trinidad & Tobago Newsday.

Mon, 06/10/2013 - 03:31