Moore to coach Guyana U-15 Squad

Guyana Chronicle article.

GEORGETOWN, GUYANA - Head of the Berbice Cricket Board (BCB) coaching department Julian Moore was yesterday named by the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) as coach of Guyana’s Under-15 squad which is scheduled to participate in this year’s West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) Regional Under-15 tournament that is set for Jamaica from July 10 to 26.

Moore replaces last year’s coach Gavin Nedd, who has had a successful run so far this year with his club Demerara Cricket Club (DCC), Georgetown Inter-Associations and Demerara youth teams, prompting the GCB to elevate him to the coaching position of the National Under-17 squad.

Apart from being head of the BCB’s coaching department, Moore who is also the son of former Guyana national team manager Carl Moore, plies his trade as a coach with the Bermine Cricket Club in the Ancient County.

Meanwhile, the national team was selected at the completion of the GCB’s/Limacol Under-15 tournament that was won by the Bhaskar Yadram-led Demerara lineup, who played unbeaten throughout.

Yadram was elected as the captain, with Ronaldo Mohammed his deputy, and included in the 14-man squad are stylish right-handed opener Raymond Perez, the dependable Timothy McAlmont and left-arm orthodox spinner Ashmead Nedd.

That trio, along with Sagar Hetheramani, were all part of DCC’s ‘A’ team that is presently waiting to contest the final of the Georgetown Cricket Association (GCA)/Brainstreet Under-15 competition, for which they are the defending champions in both the League and Cup stage.

The Guyana Under-15 team, whose players are asked to start making preparations for an encampment period are: Bhaskar Yadram (captain), Adrian Sukhwah (wicketkeeper), Raymond Perez, Darshan Persaud, Richie Lucknauth, Ronaldo Mohamed (vice-captain), Timothy McAlmont, Mark Williams, Sagar Hetheramani, Ashmead Nedd, Matthew Hardial, Vickram Talmakund, Christopher Latchman and Sylus Tyndall.

The six standby players are: Joel Seetaram, Jaddel McAlister, Kelvin Shewprasad, Andrew Clifford, Steve Deonarine and Joshua Harrichand, while the manager of the team is Virendra Chintamani. 

First Published In The Guyana Chronicle.

Fri, 05/31/2013 - 04:20