Moonsammy stars at Tyro

Trinidad Guardian article.

Port of Spain, Trinidad - An unbeaten knock of 80 from Hanuman Moonsammy led Drifters to the title in the men’s division of the BGT&T Ministry of Sport Tyro Sports Club 12-over Windball Cricket competition on August 3, when they defeated United Progressors (A) by 28 runs. 

Batting first, Moonsammy scored more than half of his team’s runs as Drifters posted a massive 159/2. Dexter Samuel also pitched in with 16.

In reply, Rishi Paheman’s 48, led a valiant attempt by United Progressors, but it was not enough as they could only muster 131/8. Kyle Ramoutar contributed 16, while Dave Baboolal (3/15) and Dale Jagassar (2/15) was the best bowlers for Drifters.

In other finals also played on that day, Xmen edged past Drifters in the 45 & Over division by nine runs, while Combine Forces cruised past Tamana Utd by seven wickets to take home the Women’s crown.


Men’s finals

Drifters 159/2 (Hanuman Moonsammy 80 n.o., Dexter Samuel 16) vs United Progressors (A) 131/8 (Rishi Paheman 48, Kyle Ramoutar 16, Dave Baboolal 3/15, Dale Jagassar 2/15) Drifters won by 28 runs

45 & Over finals

Xmen 98/8 (Dean Charles 37, Robert Braithwaite 14) vs Drifters 89/7 (Andy Ruiz 30, Gerry Meijas 15, Alex Frederick 3/7, Cyril Hernandez 2/14) Xmen won by 9 runs

Women’s finals

Tamana Utd 34 (Alicia Marquis 2/9, Natasha Trotman 3/3) vs Combine Forces 38/3 (Cleo Cedeno 12 n.o., Jovanka Simon 1/2) Combine Forces won by 7 wickets

First Published In The Trinidad Guardian.

Sun, 08/11/2013 - 08:50