MCYS / NSC / Al Sport Primary School Windball C/ships…Edinburgh, St. Therese, Betsy Ground, Massiah, all win titles

Kaieteur News article.

GEORGETOWN, GUYANA - A number of zones finals were completed when the Ministry of Culture, Youth & Sport (MCYS) / National Sports Commission (NSC) / Al Sport & Tour Promotions Primary Schools Windball Cricket Championships continued at various venues across the country.

Over in Region #6, at Welfare Centre ground in the New Amsterdam Zone-

Defending New Amsterdam & Region #6 champions Edinburgh boys defeated All Saints in a super over after the final ended in a tie.

All Saints invited to take first strike scored 37-4, with Shaquan George 10. L. Sanichara took 3 wkts.

Edinburgh in their turn at the crease made 37-6, with Avinash Nanda 12, Carlos Campbell 10. Bowling for All Saints, Keron Mc Andrews took 4 wkts.

In the Super over, Edinburgh made 7. All Saints reply with 5.

In Girls action- St. Therese beat Edinburgh by 8 wickets.

Edinburgh 33-3. R. Schewirs took 2 wkts.

St. Therese’s reached the target, ending on 36-2 Fellion Gladstone took 2wkts.

In the Canje Zone- Besty Ground Primary won both the Girls and boys titles.

In Region #6 at No. 71 ground in the Upper Corentyne Zone, No.48 (Girls) and Massiah (Boys) retained their respective titles

Girls- No. 48 defeated Corriverton by 10 wickets.

Corriverton batted first and made 30-6, Luanna Dan 10. Waheeda Hossain grabbed 3 wkts, Amita Harrichan 2 wkts.

No. 48 in reply, made 31-0 with player of the final W. Hossain 11.

Boys- Massiah beat No.56 by 1 run.

Massiah batted first and scored 29-8. Bowling for No.56, player of the final, Nickey Reece picked up 4 wkts.

No. 56 in reply was restricted to 28-5. Charran Singh 2-7.

At Bush Lot Farm ground Central Corentyne Zone- McGowan Primary returned to its glory position winning both the Girls & boys.

Girls- McGowan (The school that West Indies player Shamaine Campbell started her cricket career) after being invited to bat first made 60-1, with Player of the final Lashanda Punch 47 not out 5x4s and 2x6s, Tessa Fraser 10.

Kildonan, in reply made 57-4, Malissa George 20, Abehola D’Aguiar 18. T. Fraser and Tiniffia Pestano bagged 2 wkts each.

Boys- McGowan once again sent in to bat made 58-2, Shamar Campbell 20. Carlos Leitch 2wkts.

Defending champions & Region #6 No. 2 team Auchlyne reached 52-4, Haresh Lawrence 10. Ryan Saul 2wkts & Shimron Ram 2wkts

The Lower Corentyne zone is still to be completed.

In Region #3 at Uitvlugt ground-(Girls) – Leonora batted first and made 36-0.  McGillivary 37-1, Kimberly Basdeo 14.

Boys- Leonora retained their title, McGillivary 33-1. Leonora replied with 34-1. Player of the final, Kemar Ferrier slammed 28 not out, 3x4s.

Region #5 inaugural tournament finals played at the Seafield ground. (Girls)- No. 5 batted first and scored 43-1 with Gangada Sebarat 15, Chelsea Garraway 14, and Jenille Mc Donald 14.

Ithaca in their turn at the wicket made 43-0, Player of the final Yetunde Grant 21, Nickola Benjamin 14. The two teams were declared joint winners.

Boys- Seafield made 38-2, Euanic Sampson 17, Dequan Solomon 12.

Novar replied with 39-8, Onel Bradford 14.

First Published In Kaieteur News.

Sun, 06/02/2013 - 03:29