McCoon re-elected head of Uitvlugt CC

Guyana Times article.

Georgetown, Guyana - Bhawan McCoon was re-elected president of the Uitvlugt Cricket Club when the Annual General Meeting and elections were held recently.

Deoraj Singh was elected Vice-president, while Rameez Ally is the Secretary.

Vekash Dhaniram and Nigel Vieira have been elected Treasurer and Assistant Secretary/Treasurer respectively, while the Committee Members are Phillip Persaud, Harnarine Tiwari, Richard Baker and Carlos Guruity.

According to a release from the club, among the plans are the resuscitation of indoor games, especially dominoes, chess and table-tennis and the establishment of a female cricket team.

“The Executive Committee pledged to work along with GuySuCo and the Uitvlugt Community Development Centre Council to upgrade the Uitvlugt pitch and ground. Towards this end, the Executive Committee discussed the possibility of purchasing a lawn mower to supplement the work being done by GuySuCo,” the release stated.

It added, “For their present term in office, the Committee will place emphasis on the development of youth cricket, particularly at the Under-15 and Under-19 levels. Meanwhile, the Uitvlugt senior team has begun preparations to participate in the upcoming T20 cricket competition under the auspicies of the West Demerara United Cricket League and sponsored by Barakat and Brothers business firm.”

The release concluded that the focus of the Uitvlugt Cricket Club will be to make a contribution to bring back cricket on West Demerara to its former high standards.

First Published In The Guyana Times.

Sun, 04/27/2014 - 03:04