Leewards field in must-win match

North Sound, Antigua - Two desperate teams battle in the first match of Friday's slate of Caribbean Twenty20 2012 matches. Canada and the Leeward Islands sit at the bottom of Group A, both winless. Canada are just above the Leewards on the five team table by virtue of a better net run rate with a game in hand. The Leeward Islands have played two matches and lost both; the second being on the receiving end of a record breaking Trinidad and Tobago victory.

In an important match for both teams that could prove the difference in their fight for qualification; Canada won the toss and opted to bat first at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium.

The day's matches are being broadcast on ESPN and ESPN HD. For live online text commentary throughout the afternoon, and into tonight's final match between Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana, visit here.

Leeward Islands Team: Anthony Martin (C), Justin Athanaze, Jahmar Hamilton, Javia Liburd, Chesney Hughes, Keiron Powell, Austin Richards, Devon Thomas, Gavin Tonge, Kelbert Walters, Larry Joseph.

Canada Team: Amarbir Hansra (C), Rizwan Cheema (VC), Ruvindu Gunasekera, Henry Osinde, Hiral Patel, Hamza Tariq (WK), Zubin Surkari, Usman Limbadaiqui, Salman Bin Nazar, Manninder Aulakh, Raza Rehman, Junaid Siddiqui.

Toss: Canada won the toss and chose to bat.

Fri, 01/13/2012 - 11:06