Leewards bat first in 18-over affair

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad, CMC – The second match of the Caribbean T20 between Barbados and Leeward Islands has been reduced to 18 overs per side and will get underway at Queen’s Park Oval at 5:20 pm.

This follows a 4:30 pm inspection of the venue by umpires.

Wet conditions, resulting from heavy rains all day, had delayed the scheduled 4 pm start time.


Barbados: Dwayne Smith (Captain), Shamarh Brooks, Sulieman Benn, Tino Best, Carlos Brathwaite, Justin Brathwaite, , Jonathan Carter, Shane Dowrich (wicket-keeper), Ryan Hinds, Kyle Mayers, Ashley Nurse; 12th man: Rolston Chase

Leewards: Sylvester Joseph (Captain), Kieran Powell, Justin Athanaze, Shane Burton, Rahkeem Cornwall, Jahmar Hamilton, Chesney Hughes, Javia Liburd, Anthony Martin, Devon Thomas (wicket-keeper), Kelbert Walters, Tonito Willett; 12th man: Shane Burton

Umpires: Verdayne Smith, Joel Wilson

TV umpire: Gregory Brathwaite

Fourth official: Patrick Gustard

Match referee: Hayden Bruce

Mon, 01/07/2013 - 13:52