Khemraj, Osborne guide Sans Souci to Mac T\20 title in Wakenaam

Kaieteur News article.

Georgetown, Guyana - Outstanding performances by Gurnauth Khemraj and Wayne Osborne guided Sans Souci to a 19- run victory over Good Success when the final of the Mac Twenty\20 cricket competition was played last Sunday at Wakenaam Community Centre ground.

Sans Souci batted first and posted 144-9 in 20 overs with Gurnauth Khemraj top scoring with 51 not out while Wayne Osborne supported with 42. Vickram Ramnarine grabbed 3-13, Nazeer Mohamed and Imran Khan claimed 2-19 each.

Good Success replied with 125 all out in 18 overs. Chandrika Ragnauth was their leading batsman with 30, while Jaggernauth Manbodh made 27; Derwin Daniels bagged 4-19 and Osborne 3-20.

Sans Souci overcame Sans Souci Jaguars by 2 wickets in the first semifinal at the said venue. Jaguars took first strike and scored 127 all out in 18 overs.

Zameer Zaman made 29 and Gladwyn Henry 25. Keval Persaud snared 2-18, Osborne 2-15 and Khemraj 2-20. Sans Souci responded with 128-8 in 17 overs.

Oyono Sampson led with 49 while Khemraj returned to score 20.  Moin Khan captured 2-15 and Zaman 2-17.

Good Success made light work of Noitgedacht in the second semifinal winning by 8 wickets. Noitgedacht were skittled for 84 in 18 overs, batting first.

Neil Ramalho 21 and Kemo Paul 20 were their leading batsmen as Vickram Ramnarine picked up 3-13, Nazeer Mohamed 2-19 and Imran Khan 2-20.

Good Success reached their target in 15 overs, ending on 85-2. Lokram Narine and Jaggernauth Manbodh scored 27 apiece with the former being unbeaten. Paul took 2-15.

Osborne was given the man-of-the-match in final award, while Ramnarine received the prize for taking the most wickets and Sampson the trophy for the best batsman in the competition. Both finalist collected trophies and Zeelandia SC took the fair play award.

Speaking at the presentation ceremony, sponsor Safraz Sheriffudeen congratulated the winners and promised to continue with his sponsorship. Secretary of the Wakenaam Cricket Committee Nazeer Mohamed thanked the sponsor.

First Published By Kaieteur News.

Sun, 11/10/2013 - 11:49