Khan spins Trinis to 2nd on 4-Day table

Port of Spain, Trinidad, CMC – Trinidad and Tobago predictably trounced the Leeward Islands, easily pulling off an innings and 107-run victory in the Regional Four-Day Championship here Monday.

Starting the final day of the third round contest needing just three wickets for victory, T&T wasted little time in wrapping up the game, to come away with 18 points.

Click Here For Day 1 Report.

Click Here For Day 2 Report.

Click Here For Day 3 Report.

Leg-spinner Imran Khan took three of the last four wickets to fall to finish with five for 53 while fast bowler Shannon Gabriel picked up three for 63.

Resuming the day/night affair at Queen’s Park Oval on 159 for six, the Leewards quickly lost overnight batsmen Hayden Walsh Jr (0) and Tonito Willett (10), to slump to 177 for eight.

However, Justin Athanaze and Gavin Tonge resisted stoutly in an entertaining stand, adding 54 for the ninth wicket and holding up T&T’s victory bid.

Athanaze belted 38 from 41 balls with two fours and four sixes while Tonge was not to be left out, hammering four fours in 28 from 34 deliveries.

The entertainment ended once Athanaze missed a straight one from Khan and was lbw and the final rites came when Tonge holed out to long off off Khan in the bowler’s next over.

Leeward Islands had been forced to follow on in the game after they responded to T&T’s first innings of 458 for seven declared, with a paltry 113.


Summary Scores:

Trinidad & Tobago 1st Innings: 458/7 Declared (153 Overs). Akeal Hosein 102*, Stephen Katwaroo 92, Evin Lewis 78, Jonathan Augustus 61; Justin Athanaze 37-13-76-2, Tonito Willett 27-7-73-2, Gavin Tonge 28-10-70-1, Kieran Powell 8-1-42-1.

Leeward Islands 1st Innings: 113 All Out (30 Overs). Jahmar Hamilton+ 52, Kieran Powell* 19, Anthony Martin 9*, Mali Richards 9; Shannon Gabriel 9-3-21-3, Imran Khan 4.1-2-12-2, Rayad Emrit 10-1-35-2, Yannic Cariah 4-0-15-1.

Leeward Islands 1st Innings: 238 All Out (99.2 Overs). Kieran Powell* 67, Justin Athanaze 38, Gavin Tonge 28, Jahmar Hamilton+ 23; Imran Khan 22.2-3-53-5, Shannon Gabriel 20-3-63-3, Rayad Emrit 16-8-24-1, Jason Mohammed 18-10-16-0.

T&T won by an innings and 107 runs


Trinidad & Tobago 1st Innings

A Barath c Hamilton b Athanaze 24

E Lewis handled ball 78

D Bravo LBW Powell 60

J Mohammed c Hamilton b Willett 22

J Augustus LBW Tonge 61

I khan c Thomas b Willett 2

S Katwaroo+ LBW Athanaze 91

A Hosein not out 102

Total: 458/7 (153 Overs)

Extras: (6nb, 1w, 6lb, 5b) 18

Did not Bat: Y Cariah, R Emrit*, S Gabriel.

Fall of Wickets: 1-56, 2-161, 3-178, 4-243, 5-261, 6-261, 7-458.

Leeward Islands 1st Innings Bowling: G Tonge 28-10-70-1, T Willett 27-7-73-2, A Martin 33-4-91-0, J Athanaze 37-13-76-2, H Walsh Jr 20-0-95-0, K Powell 8-1-42-1.

Leeward Islands 1st Innings

K Powell* c Hosein b Emrit 19

Lyndell Richardson b Gabriel 5

Mali Richards c Khan b Emrit 9

S Joseph run out(Mohammed) 1

D Thomas b Gabriel 1

J Hamilton+ c Hosein b Khan 52

T Willett b Gabriel 0

H Walsh Jr c & b Hosein 6

J Athanaze LBW Cariah 4

G Tonge LBW Khan 6

A Martin not out 9

Total: 113 All Out (34.1 Overs)

Extras: (0nb, 0w, 0lb, 1b) 1

Fall of Wickets: 1-18, 2-34, 3-35, 4-36, 5-36, 6-39, 7-60, 8-65, 9-85, 10-113.

Trinidad & Tobago 1st Innings Bowling: R Emrit 10-1-35-2, S Gabriel 9-3-21-3, A Hosein 7-1-29-1, Y Cariah 4-0-15-1, I Khan 4.1-2-12-2.

Leeward Islands 2nd Innings (Trail; 345)

K Powell* c Katwaroo b Gabriel 67

L Richardson c Emrit b Gabriel 3

M Richards c Bravo b khan 14

S Joseph c (sub Richards) b Khan 8

D Thomas run out(sub Richards) 14

J Hamilton+ LBW Khan 23

T Willett c Katwaroo b Gabriel 10

H Walsh Jr c Lewis b Emrit 0

J Athanaze LBW Khan 38

G Tonge c Cariah b Khan 28

A Martin not out 3

Total: 238 All Out (99.2 overs)

Extras (b7, lb10, w1, nb12) 30

Fall of Wickets: 1-5, 2-43, 3-60, 4-83, 5-142, 6-159, 7-162, 8-177, 9-231, 10-238.

Trinidad & Tobago 2nd Innings Bowling: S Gabriel 20-3-63-3, R Emrit 16-8-24-1, J Mohammed 18-10-16-0, Y Cariah 22-4-63-0, I Khan 22.2-3-53-5, E Lewis 1-0-2-0.

Result: T&T won by an innings and 107 runs

Man of the Match: Akeal Hosein (T&T)

Final points: T&T 18 (3 batting points + 3 bowling points + 12 points for victory) | Leewards 2 (2 bowling points + 0 bowling points)

Toss: Trinidad & Tobago won the toss and elected to bat first

Umpires: Zahid Bassarath & Verdayne Smith

Standby Umpire: Anthony Sanowar

Reserve Umpire: Michael Ragoonath

Mon, 03/17/2014 - 16:05