Khan guides Comets past Moosai

Trinidad Express article.

Port of Spain, Trinidad - Trinidad and Tobago all-rounder Imran Khan kept Alescon Comets’ Sunday League campaign alive on Wednesday night, slamming 102 to lead the Charlieville-based team to a close two-wicket win over Moosai Sports in their penultimate Group B match at Pierre Road, Charlieville.

Khan hit five sixes and eight fours to anchor the Comets chase, helping the home team reach 269 for eight off 48.4 overs after they restricted their opponents to 268 for eight off 50.

Guyana’s Derwin Christian reached triple figures in another mid-week fixture, hitting 103 to lead Munroe Road to a close four-run victory over Merry Boys in their Group A match at Munroe Road Ground.

Defending champions Queen’s Park Cricket Club stayed perfect with a 112-run win over Esmeralda at Queen’s Park Oval to confirm their place at the top of the Group A standings, booking a place in the quarter-finals as the top team in the group.

Seenath’s Auto Bamboo Sports, Merry Boys, Caldrac and Munroe Road will be fighting for the remaining three quarter-final spots up for grabs in Group A.

In Group B, PowerGen, Jenexcon Tableland and First Citizens Clarke Road United are through to the quarter-finals, while Moosai Sports and Alescon Comets will be fighting for the other qualifying spot.

The final round of group matches--the rescheduled third round—will be played on March 1. The quarter-finals take place on March 6.

Sunday League Scores

Group A

At Munroe Road

Munroe Road 205 (49.2 overs) (Derwin Christian 103, Kristoff Andrews 41; Javon Searles 3/28) vs Merry Boys 201 (49.1 overs) (Troy Cornelius 47, Aneil Kanhai 23, Kastri Singh 27; Mahendra Nagamootoo 3/29, Shaquille Allick 3/41)

—Munroe Road won by four runs

At Calcutta Ground

Seenath’s Auto Bamboo Sports 156 (43.3 overs) (Yannic Cariah 31; Allen Laurent 3/20, Ancil Nedd 2/18, Valmiki Maharaj 2/33, Dane Teelucksingh 2/34) vs Caldrac Club 157-4 (41.5 overs) (Franklyn Rouse 83 n.o., Shamarh Brooks 35, Antonio Aziz 16 n.o.; Darren Deonarine 3/32)

—Caldrac won by six wickets

At Queen’s Park Oval

QPCC 280-8 (50 overs) (Justin Guillen 91, Akeal Hosein 41, Kevon Cooper 34, Daron Cruickshank 30; Rishaad Harris 3/44, Trevon Griffith 2/33, Bryan Boodram 2/56) vs Esmeralda 168 (42.3 overs) (Anthony D’Andrade 42, Eton Bhal 33, Ahkeel Mollon 20, Emile Rajah 19; Kevon Cooper 4/24, Daron Cruickshank 3/34)

—QPCC won by 112 runs

Group B

At Syne Village

Jenexcon Tableland 221 (43 overs) (Lincoln Roberts 67, Amir Khan 39, Steven Taylor 29; Kavesh Kantasingh 4/38, Ansil Bhaggan 3/35, Vaaroon Samaroo 2/38) vs PowerGen 163 (41.1 overs) (Gregory Mahabir 40, Ansil Bhaggan 26 n.o., Jason Mohammed 20; Brent Harriot 2/14, Daniel St Clair 2/25, Negus Carthy 2/27, Kenton Thompson 2/27)

—Jenexcon Tableland won by 58 runs

At Pluck Road

CLICO Preysal 127 (27.4 overs) (Kissoondath Magram 3/43) vs First Citizens Clarke Road 132-2 (21.4) (Adrian Ali 54, Sean Siloch 48 n.o.)

—Clarke Road won by eight wickets

At Pierre Road

Moosai Sports 268-8 (50 overs) (Nicholas Alexis 76, Jed Yearwood 49, Brian Christmas 34; Richard Kelly 3/50, Imran Khan 2/29) vs Alescon Comets 269-8 (48.4 overs) (Imran Khan 102, Raj Nanan 47 n.o., Marlon Bharath 43 n.o.; Vikash Mohan 4/34, Tevin Robertson 2/46)

—Comets won by two wickets

First Published In The Trinidad Express.

Thu, 02/20/2014 - 19:44