Johnson has India on the run

KINGSTOWN, St Vincent, CMC – West Indies A were closing in on a series-levelling victory in the second Digicel four-day “Test” here Monday after left-arm seamer Delorn Johnson produced a lethal burst to leave India A reeling at the close on the third day at Arnos Vale.


The 23-year-old ripped out the top order of the visitors’ batting to leave them tottering on 57 for four, still needing 163 for victory heading into Tuesday’s final day.


Earlier, West Indies A were dismissed for 204 after they resumed the day on six without loss.


They were led by left-hander Jonathan Carter who stroked 74 while right-handed Jamaican Donovan Pagon hit an attacking 67. The pair rescued the innings with an 86-run, sixth wicket stand after West Indies A were rocking at 81 for five after lunch.


While Carter faced 97 balls and counted six fours, Pagon faced just 72 balls and cracked four fours and four sixes – three over long off and another over extra cover to bring up his half century. Left-arm spinner Akshay Darekar was the main wicket-taker with six for 67.


The hosts had another bumpy start as opener Justin Guillen (6) clipped to a catch to mid-wicket off seamer Shami Ahmed at 11 for one and Kyle Corbin followed soon afterward for 16, at 36 for two. Darekar then prised out the next three Windies A batsmen to leave the innings in turmoil.


Nkrumah Bonner missed a straight one and was lbw for five at 48 for three before obdurate opener Kraigg Brathwaite’s long vigil over 21 ended when he was taken at first slip by Rohit Sharma just after lunch, following a two-and-a-half hour stay at the crease.


When wicketkeeper/batsman Devon Thomas was trapped lbw by an arm ball without scoring, the Windies A seemed on the brink of collapse until Carter and Pagon joined forces.


Set 220 to win, India A were in early trouble when Ajinkya Rahane played back to one from Johnson that kept low and was bowled for five at 13 for one.


Johnson then beat Shikhar Dhawan’s ambitious drive to bowl the left-hander for eight and he then used a turn of pace to trap opener Abhinav Mukund lbw, also for eight.


The crowning achievement was the wicket of captain Cheteshwar Pujara, the leading batsman in the series, who nicked an in-swinger behind for one to leave India reeling at 30 for four.



WEST INDIES 1st innings 217

INDIA 1st innings 202

WEST INDIES 2nd innings

(overnight 6-0)

K Brathwaite c Rohit Sharma b Darekar 21

J Guillen c Mukund b Ahmed 6

K Corbin c wkp Saha b Darekar 16

N Bonner lbw b Darekar 5

J Carter c Mukund b Dinda 74

+D Thomas lbw b Darekar 0

D Pagon c wkp Saha b Darekar 67

J Holder c Darekar b Rohit 0

*V Permaul c Rohit Sharma b Darekar 2

D Johnson not out 5

D Bishoo c wkp Saha b Rohit 0

Extras (b2, lb3, nb3) 8

TOTAL (all out) 204

Bowling: Dinda 13-1-22-1, Ahmed 9-3-29-1, Darekar 24-9-67-6, Rohit Sharma 16.3-1-47-2, Rahul Sharma 8-3-25-0, Tiwary 1-0-9-0

Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Guillen), 2-36 (Corbin), 3-48 (Bonner), 4-73 (Brathwaite), 5-81 (Thomas), 6-167 (Carter), 7-168 (Holder), 8-172 (Permaul), 9-203 (Pagon), 10-204 (Bishoo).

INDIA A 2nd innings

A Mukund lbw b Johnson 8

A Rahane b Johnson 5

S Dhawan b Johnson 8

C Pujara c wkp Thomas b Johnson 1

Rohit Sharma not out 8

M Tiwary not out 15

Extras (b3, w7, nb1) 11

TOTAL (4 wkts, 20 overs) 57

Bowling: Johnson 9-0-20-4, Holder 7-2-28-0, Bishoo 2-0-5-0, Permaul 2-1-1-0

Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Rahane), 2-28 (Dhawan), 3-29 (Mukund), 4-30 (Pujara)

Toss: West Indies.

Position: India A require 163 runs with six wickets intact.

Umpires: Gregory Brathwaite, Joel Wilson

Third umpire: Goaland Greaves

Mon, 06/11/2012 - 14:43