Johnson is GCC Player-of-the-Year : … Jaikarran achieves landslide win over Panday

Guyana Chronicle article.

Georgetown, Guyana - Having walked away with the Guyana Cricket Board’s (GCB) Senior Player-of-the-Year award last week Tuesday, Guyana and West Indies ‘A’ team middle- order batsman Leon Johnson added the Georgetown Cricket Club’s Player-of-the-Year award to his growing list of accolades 48 hours after.

Such honour was bestowed on the 26-year-old left-handed batsman, when the club hosted its Annual Awards Ceremony for 2013 on the upper deck of its main pavilion last week Thursday.

Several other members of the various disciplines that the club competes in on the local scene were awarded as well, with Kevin Spencer being the Most Valuable Player (Male) and Alyssa Xavier (Female) for hockey.

Kareem McKenzie Most Improved Male, Samantha Fernandes Most Improved Female, Eric Hing Most Promising Male and Briana Gordon Most Promising Female, were also rewarded from the discipline of hockey by the club’s officials.

National Under-15 cricketer Ronaldo Mohammed was named the Under-15 Player-of-the-Year, with Martin Pestano-Belle (Under-19) and Devon Lord for feats as the skipper of the club’s second division team, receiving similar accolades.

Mohammed received a second award after he was adjudged the Club’s Emerging and Most Promising Young Player, even as Jeetendra Sookdeo (Most Dependable), Khemchand Hardyal, Stefan Wilson and Tariq Dharamlall (Most Disciplined), Zackary Jodah, Rahul Singh, Ravaldo Mohamed, Sanjay Persaud, Bheem Hardyal and Yohance Angoy (Emerging Nursery players), were honoured.

Johnson, Ramnaresh Sarwan and Robin Bacchus were also rewarded for representing Guyana and the West Indies teams respectively during 2013.

Meanwhile, Lionel Jaikaran retained the presidency of the club last Monday evening with a 52-7 landslide victory over his lone opponent in former secretary of the Guyana Cricket Board and president of the Georgetown Cricket Association Bish Panday, at the Club’s Annual General Meeting.

Ramsay Ali was returned as the vice-president while Jameel Baksh and Pratab Singh will continue to serve as secretary and treasurer respectively for another term, having received a vote of confidence from the electorate.

Philip Fernandes was given another term as the Club’s captain while the Committee Members are Eon Caesar, Leslie Ramalho and Glen Hanoman, with Retired Chancellor of the Judiciary Cecil Kennard, Paul Chan-A-Sue, Brian Woodroffe, Geoffrey Fraser, R.E. Legall, Harold Dhanraj and A. Jainarayansingh all being elected to serve as Ballot Committee members.

Johnson (cricket), Devin Hooper (hockey), Robin Low (squash) and Roy Rampersaud (lawn tennis) were elected as the captains to lead the relevant disciplines.

Jaikarran, in an invited comment, said he was very happy to be re-elected and thanked the members for their confidence and support.

He said the executive will work feverishly in 2014 to ensure that the club continues to develop and maintain their winning ways in all disciplines during the coming year.

First Published In The Guyana Chronicle.

Wed, 12/11/2013 - 18:57