Jaikaran retains GCC Presidency

Kaieteur News article.

Georgetown, Guyana - Lionel Jaikaran retained the Presidency of the Georgetown Cricket Club (GCC) when the organisation held its Annual General Meeting on Monday evening last at the club’s pavilion.

Ramsay Ali returned Vice President while Jameel Baksh and Pratab Singh will serve as Secretary and Treasurer respectively for another term.

Philip Fernandes returned as the Club Captain while the committee members are Eon Caesar, Leslie Ramalho and Glenn Hanoman.

Cecil Kennard, Paul Chan-A-Sue, Brian Woodroffe, Jeofrey Fraser, R.E. Legall, Harold Dhanraj and A. Jainarayansingh are the Ballot Committee members.

Leon Johnson (cricket), Devin Hooper (hockey), Robin Low (squash) and Roy Rampersaud (lawn tennis) were elected as Captains for the various disciplines.

Members of the GCC Executive Committee standing from left are Glen Hanoman and Phillip Fernandes. Sitting from left are Jameel Baksh, Ramsay Alli, Lionel Jaikaran and Pratab Singh. Missing are Eon Caesar and Les Ramalho.

In an invited comment, Jaikaran said that he is very happy to be re-elected and thanked the members for their confidence and support.

He said that the executive will work feverishly in 2014 to ensure that the club continues to develop adding that he is pleased that the resolution to allow females to become full members of the club was approved.

Meanwhile, the following players were rewarded for their outstanding performances in 2013 at the club’s annual awards ceremony held recently.

Hockey: Kevin Spenser Most valuable male player, Alysa Xavier female MVP, Kareem Mc Kenzie most improved male player, Samantha Fernandes most valuable female player, Eric Hing most promising male player and Briawna Gordon most promising female player.

Cricket: Ronaldo Mohamed (U-15), Martin Pestano – Belle (U-19) , Devon Lord (second division), Leon Johnson (senior), Jeetendra Sookdeo (most dependable player), Ronaldo Mohamed (emerging and most promising young player), Khemchand Hardyal, Stefan Wilson and Tariq Dharamlall (discipline), Zackary Jodah, Rahul Singh, Ravaldo Mohamed, Sanjay Persaud, Bheem Hardyal and Yohance Angoy (Emerging Nursery players).

Leon Johnson, Ramnaresh Sarwan and Robin Bacchus were also rewarded for representing Guyana and the West Indies teams.

First Published By Kaieteur News.

Wed, 12/11/2013 - 05:11