Ireland defeat Windward Islands by 64 runs

Port of Spain, Trinidad - Ireland turned around a poor batting innings to defeat the Windward Islands by 64 runs in both teams' final match of the NAGICO Super50 tournament.

Chasing 180 runs to win, the Windward Islands were bowled out for just 115 in 35 overs. Their chase never got going. They were reduced early on to 39/3. They never recovered.

Tyrone Theophile resisted with 27, but that wasn't near enough to what was required. His knock came off 47 balls. Andre Fletcher was the second highest scorer with 19 runs.

George Dockrell took 3-14 while Andrew Poynter came into the attack late to wrap up the Windwards' innings, finishing with 2-11. Ireland suffered a similar innings when they won the toss and elected to bat first.

Johnson took 3-25 while his captain, Liam Sebastien, took 2-36 as the Windwards put on an impressive display of bowling in their final match of the NAGICO Super50 tournament.

Only Niall O'Brien battled back for the far visitors scoring 44 runs from 63 balls. He hit two fours and one six. Stuart Thompson also tried to resist but he could only get to 32 runs from 42 balls.

Their efforts were enough in the end as the Irish won by 64 runs.

Both the Windward Islands and Ireland are playing for pride having already been knocked out of the tournament. Both, however, will want to finish their NAGICO Super50 campaign on a high.

Ireland won the toss and elected to bat first. Both teams made great changes to the Starting XIs that played in the first two matches. Alex Cusack and Tim Murtagh were dropped as Craig Young and Paul Stirling came in.

The Windwards made all three changes with the struggling Devon Smith, Garey Mathurin and Kenroy Peters being replaced in the starting line-up. Alston Bobb, Dalton Polius and Craig Emmanuel all get a chance to start.

Both teams lost their first two matches against Guyana and Jamaica and though they have played patches of good cricket, have struggled to get the results. Today, they face each other at the Queen's Park Oval from 2pm Local Time (1pm Jamaica Time).

More to follow...

  • Thursday, 30th: Jamaica beat Windwards by 14 runs
  • Friday, 31st: Guyana beat Ireland by 114 runs
  • Monday, 3rd: Jamaica beat Ireland by 6 wickets
  • Tuesday, 4th: Guyana beat Windwards by 22 runs


Summary Scores:

Ireland Innings: 179 All Out (48.3 Overs). Niall O'Brien 44, Stuart Thompson 32, Max Sorensen 17, Gary Wilson 15; Delorn Johnson 9.3-3-25-3, Liam Sebastien 10-1-36-2, Craig Emmanuel 7-0-24-1, Alston Bobb 8-0-28-1.

Windward Islands Innings: 115 All Out (35 Overs). Tyrone Theophile 27, Andre Fletcher 19, Dalton Polius 17, Romel Currency 12; George Dockrell 7-1-14-3, Andrew Poynter 2-0-11-2, P Stirling 7-2-13-1, Max Sorensen 5-0-16-1.


Toss: Ireland won the toss and elected to bat first

Windward Islands Squad: Liam Sebastien (captain), Andre Fletcher (vice captain/wicket-keeper), Johnson Charles, Tyron Theophille, Mervin Matthew, Craig Emmanuel, Keddy Lesporis, Dalton Polius, Delorn Johnson, Kenroy Peters, Romel Currency.

On The Bench: Garey Mathurin, Alston Bobb, Devon Smith; Ian Allen (coach).

Ireland Squad: William Porterfield (captain), George Dockrell, Paul Stirling, Andrew McBrine, Kevin O’Brien, Niall O’Brien, Andrew Poynter, Max Sorensen, Stuart Thompson, Gary Wilson, Craig Young.

On The Bench: Tim MurtaghAlex Cusack; Phil Simmons (coach).

Umpires: Patrick Gustard, Danesh Ramdhanie

TV Umpire: Gregory Brathwaite

4th Official: Lyndon Rajkumar

Match Referee: Michael Ragoonath

Watch live on ESPN3 (Checking your local listings)

Listen to live ball-by-ball commentary (

Follow on Twitter (@WindiesRegional) & Facebook (Windies Cricket)

Catch all the action in photos (Flickr)



W Porterfield* c Currency b Johnson 3

P Stirling c Lesporis b Emmanuel 11

Niall O'Brien st Fletcher b Polius 44

G Wilson+ b Sebastien 15

A Poynter st Fletcher b Bobb 14

Kevin O'Brien b Johnson 10

S Thompson LBW Sebastien 32

M Sorensen run out Sebastien 17

A McBrine c Emmanuel b Johnson 6

G Dockrell not out 9

C Young run out Lesporis 1

Total: 179 All Out (49.3 Overs)

Extras: (10WD, 6LB, 1B) 17

Fall of Wickets: 1-19, 2-23, 3-61, 4-94, 5-98, 6-116, 7-154, 8-169, 9-170, 10-170.

Windward Islands Bowling: D Johnson 9.3-3-25-3, C Emmanuel 7-0-24-1, L Sebastien 10-1-36-2, M Mathew 9-0-34-0, A Bobb 8-0-28-1, D Polius 5-0-25-1.

Windward Islands (Target; 180)

J Charles c Dockrell b Thompson 1

T Theophile LBW Dockrell 27

A Fletcher+ c Niall Ob'Brien b Dockrell 19

K Lesporis c Kevin O'Brien b Sorensen 0

D Polius c Poynter b Dockrell 17

R Currency run out Thompson 12

L Sebastien b Poynter 6

C Emmanuel b Stirling 5

M Mathew run out Porterfield 0

A Bobb LBW Poynter 5

D Johnson not out 9

Total: 115 All Out (35 Overs)

Extras: (10WD, 2LB, 2B) 14

Fall of Wickets: 1-2, 2-34, 3-39, 4-57, 5-86, 6-89, 7-94, 8-95, 9-101, 10-.

Ireland Bowling: C Young 4-0-21-0, S Thompson 2-0-13-1, G Dockrell 7-1-14-3, M Sorensen 5-0-16-1, A McBrine 9-1-31-1, P Stirling 7-2-13-1, A Poynter 2-0-11-2.

Result: Ireland won by 64 runs

Man of the Match: George Dockrell (Ireland)

Umpires: Patrick Gustard, Danesh Ramdhanie

TV Umpire: Gregory Brathwaite

4th Official: Lyndon Rajkumar

Match Referee: Michael Ragoonath

Fri, 02/07/2014 - 04:43