Igloo Ice Cream on board for GCB U-15 Inter-County Tournament

Guyana Chronicle article.

Georgetown, Guyana - In collaboration with the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB), Sterling Products Limited (SPL) under their Igloo Ice Cream brand would be sponsoring the 2014 Inter-County Under-15 competition which will bowl off tomorrow with two matches.

Igloo Ice Cream is manufactured by SPL which is situated at Providence, East Bank Demerara and has been in existence for over 40 years, while their various products are well known for their creamy and delicious tastes, and are especially loved by kids.

The ice cream is available in 1/4pts, 1/2pts, 1pts, 2pts, 1/2gln, 1gln and 2-gallon containers, while it comes in many flavours namely chocolate, strawberry, vanilla, cherry, and pink orange and is accessible in all leading supermarkets, ice parlours in various areas and also in other areas.

The cricket action will commence tomorrow with President XI taking on the defending champions Demerara at the Demerara Cricket Club ground while Essequibo and Berbice will clash at the Everest Cricket Club ground.

The second round of the competition is scheduled for April 2-3 and will see Essequibo meeting Demerara at the Enmore Community Centre ground and Berbice will meet President XI at the Wales Community Centre ground.

The third and final round will be held from April 5-6, with Berbice and Demerara doing battle at Everest Cricket Club ground while the Essequibo and President XI contest will take place at the Demerara Cricket Club ground.

The sponsors and GCB executives will be on hand to meet the players and officials at Everest tomorrow before the commencement of play, which is expected to get under way at 10:00hrs each day.

The teams are as follows:

President XI: Stephon Williams, Khemchand Hardyal, Robin Williams, Mark Ramsammy, Danesh Kowlessar, Junior Phillips, Anil Singh, Azim Alli, Joel Fortune, Shivnarine Chattergoon, Quintin Sampson, Christopher Campbelle, Chandrat Veerasammy, Brandon Corlette. The manager is Clive Grimmond and the coach is Julian Moore.

Demerara: Bhaskar Yadram, Paul Thomas, Alphius Bookie, Joshua Persaud, Kurt Lovell, Ganesh Jitlall, Ramdeo Basdeo, Ashmead Nedd, Sagar Hetheramani, Bhojnarine Singh, Colin Barlow, Mark Baptise, Pradesh Balkishun, and Anthony Antonio. The manager is Robert Adonis and the coach is Gavin Nedd.

Berbice: Kevin Sinclair, Surendra Budhoo, Alex Algu, Junior Sinclair, Steve Deonarine, Keith Simphson, Kris Ramnarine (vice- captain), Seon Glasgow, Javid Karim, Dinishwar Budhoo, Kevon Anderson, Steven Kalamudin, Junior Williams, and Haifa Walters. The manager is Rabindranauth Saywack and the coach is Andre Percival.

Essequibo: Punraj Coldhar, Shane Wonge, Vishal Singh, Arnold Adams, Besham Moses, Joshua Jones, Ronaldo McPherson, Daeshan Indar, Orlando Jailall, Shamar Dhasrat, Govindra Gobin, Bomesh Ramgobin, Leanardo Bennette, and Wasim Mohamed. The manager is Vickram Ramnarine and the coach is Festus Benn.

First Published In The Guyana Chronicle.

Fri, 03/28/2014 - 18:40